Xiaolongnu Posted November 30, 2015 Report Share Posted November 30, 2015 The hand is not very important. Suffice to say that South has all key cards and enough tricks except the ace of trump. After some bidding, South bid 4NT for 0314. The response was 5C and after East passed but before South bid, and by agreed facts without pause for thought, North said she had taken out the wrong bidding card. The Director was not summoned. The players continued on their own and South bid and made 7H. Ruling please. In particular,I have the following to ask. 1. Is the rectification to be written off on the grounds that they did not summon the Director promptly, by L11A and some similar law? 2. Is the 5C bid considered unintended and hence the information of partner having an ace authorized? 3. Did NS use UI? Or has the UI become indemnified by either of these. 4. Suppose the matter went to appeal. Is this under L93 where it is a matter of law and the AC may not interfere? Does club COC change this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted November 30, 2015 Report Share Posted November 30, 2015 2. Is the 5C bid considered unintended and hence the information of partner having an ace authorized? Did North actually change her bid to 5♦? If not, why not? It sounds like the 5♣ bid was a mechanical error. If that is so, she is allowed to change it. There is no UI. If the 5♣ bid was not a mechanical error, i.e. North temporarily thought they played 1430 or she overlooked her ace or whatever, then the substitution is not allowed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted November 30, 2015 Report Share Posted November 30, 2015 The hand is not very important. Suffice to say that South has all key cards and enough tricks except the ace of trump. After some bidding, South bid 4NT for 0314. The response was 5C and after East passed but before South bid, and by agreed facts without pause for thought, North said she had taken out the wrong bidding card. The Director was not summoned. The players continued on their own and South bid and made 7H. Ruling please. In particular,I have the following to ask. 1. Is the rectification to be written off on the grounds that they did not summon the Director promptly, by L11A and some similar law? 2. Is the 5C bid considered unintended and hence the information of partner having an ace authorized? 3. Did NS use UI? Or has the UI become indemnified by either of these. 4. Suppose the matter went to appeal. Is this under L93 where it is a matter of law and the AC may not interfere? Does club COC change this?1: YES2: With the Director present this is a question of (his) judgement and ruling. Here the players have implicitly accepted the 5♣ bid as unintended and allowed a Law 25A rectification.3: Law 25A never results in UI, the unintended call is considered never made.4: As there was no Director's ruling there is nothing to appeal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted November 30, 2015 Report Share Posted November 30, 2015 Why is this thread titled "Hesitation Blackwood"? Who hesitated, and what use did their partner supposedly make of it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billw55 Posted November 30, 2015 Report Share Posted November 30, 2015 South bid 4NT for 0314. The response was 5C and after East passed but before South bid, and by agreed facts without pause for thought, North said she had taken out the wrong bidding card. I am having a hard time getting these two bits to make sense together. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted November 30, 2015 Report Share Posted November 30, 2015 The "pause for thought" starts when North notices that she bid 5♣, not when she actually bid 5♣. So the two bits are not necesarily contradictory. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billw55 Posted November 30, 2015 Report Share Posted November 30, 2015 The "pause for thought" starts when North notices that she bid 5♣, not when she actually bid 5♣. So the two bits are not necesarily contradictory.Ah, ok, makes sense enough I guess. It sounds like all four players effectively agreed to the communication of one keycard, regardless of whether the 5♣ card card was actually replaced with the 5♦ card. Also, it seems there was never a director call, so I don't see how the score can be changed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xiaolongnu Posted December 1, 2015 Author Report Share Posted December 1, 2015 OP here. The Director was called at the end of play. The Director ruled result stand. The case went to appeal and the AC adjusted the result to 6H+1 by South. Is this "no infraction result stand" ruling a point on law or a point on bridge? Is it appealable? Could the club COC allow such an appeal to happen? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wank Posted December 1, 2015 Report Share Posted December 1, 2015 result stands. you can't not call the director about a change of bid, wait to see what happens, then cry about it. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted December 1, 2015 Report Share Posted December 1, 2015 Law 11A says:The right to rectification of an irregularity may be forfeited if either member of the non-offending side takes any action before summoning the Director. The Director does so rule, for example, when the non-offending side may have gained through subsequent action taken by an opponent in ignorance of the relevant provisions of the law.It seems that the director was ruling on this basis. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted December 1, 2015 Report Share Posted December 1, 2015 result stands. you can't not call the director about a change of bid, wait to see what happens, then cry about it.But this assumes that North actually changed her bid, doesn't it? Because if she just said that she made a mistake but didn't change her bid then it sounds to me like a UI case. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted December 1, 2015 Report Share Posted December 1, 2015 But this assumes that North actually changed her bid, doesn't it? Because if she just said that she made a mistake but didn't change her bid then it sounds to me like a UI case. Yes, and this would preclude a ruling in her favour. Also a PP for everyone at the table for NT calling the director after attention has been called to the irregularity might prevent a repeat of the situation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.