Jump to content

"One off"


shyams

Recommended Posts

[hv=pc=n&s=sthkdaqjt65cak532&w=sak653haj643d8c84&n=sj874ht87d42cqjt9&e=sq92hq952dk973c76&d=e&v=b&b=10&a=p5d(Actual%20bidding%20unknown)ppp&p=hah7h2hksks4s9sth3h8hqd6c2c4cjc6d2d3dtd8c3c8cqc7d4d7djs3dq]399|300[/hv]

Click "play" to see the play to the first seven tricks.

 

After the 4-1 diamond split is discovered, South mumbles "One off" & leads the Q. What happens next is that West discards a spade, dummy starts gathering all his cards, West begins to do the same, and East briefly exposes the 9 before picking up all his cards.

The other three players are shuffling their hands to return to the board; however, South now claims he's made 11 tricks.

 

How do you rule?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[hv=pc=n&s=sthkdaqjt65cak532&w=sak653haj643d8c84&n=sj874ht87d42cqjt9&e=sq92hq952dk973c76&d=e&v=b&b=10&a=p5d(Actual%20bidding%20unknown)ppp&p=hah7h2hksks4s9sth3h8hqd6c2c4cjc6d2d3dtd8c3c8cqc7d4d7djs3dq]399|300|

Click "play" to see the play to the first seven tricks.

After the 4-1 diamond split is discovered, South mumbles "One off" & leads the Q. What happens next is that West discards a spade, dummy starts gathering all his cards, West begins to do the same, and East briefly exposes the 9 before picking up all his cards.

The other three players are shuffling their hands to return to the board; however, South now claims he's made 11 tricks.

How do you rule?

[/hv]

IMO the director should run with gordontd's "Play subsequent to the claim may be taken into account". He should judge to decline that option, decide that normal play results in one-down, and hence rule one-down.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

But any play that does take place may be taken into account.

Does exposing a card after a claim constitute play? We are not told that dummy played to this trick, so it is not clear that East was following to the queen of diamonds. In any case, awarding anything other than 1 down does not seem to follow "<snip> the Director adjudicates the result of the board as equitably as possible to both sides <snip>"

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

But any play that does take place is taken into account. Why did East expose the card?

 

Who knows? Maybe because play was over and are confirming to partner that they really did have another diamond as well as the king. Maybe because dummy helped confuse the situation by gathering up the cards. Whatever the reason, the chance they were going to play the D9 on the actual trick had play continued is, shall we say, small.

 

To summarise the original post, declarer claims, people pick up cards, East shows a small diamond as part of the process. How South can try to claim an extra trick is beyond belief.

  • Upvote 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm not so certain that mumbling "one off" constitutes a claim. Besides, South leads the diamond queen, which he wouldn't, or shouldn't, do when he claims. And why does East show the nine instead of the king? I don't think this is a clear cut case and to make a ruling, I would need to hear the players. Based on the information given, I would rule in favour of NS.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm not so certain that mumbling "one off" constitutes a claim.

 

Dummy certainly took it as a claim, which is pretty solid evidence that South's actions are within the expected range of claiming for this player.

 

If you want the legal justification, Law 68A states:

 

Any statement to the effect that a contestant will win a specific number of tricks is a claim of those tricks.

 

Nothing about how elaborate or clear it needs to be. Given that North picked up dummy's cards I wouldn't buy the argument that it was simply muttered under declarer's breath.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm not so certain that mumbling "one off" constitutes a claim. Besides, South leads the diamond queen, which he wouldn't, or shouldn't, do when he claims. And why does East show the nine instead of the king? I don't think this is a clear cut case and to make a ruling, I would need to hear the players. Based on the information given, I would rule in favour of NS.

Even if you rule that it wasn't a claim, you still have to deal with NS's irregularities and the effects of those.

 

If South had kept his mouth shut and North had left his cards alone, do you think East would have showed his 9, or would he just have taken his king? I think it's pretty obvious that NS's antics caused East to do what he did, and they certainly could have been aware that they might have such an effect.

 

Hence, if you rule that it wasn't a claim and that the contract made, you should then adjust it back to done one under Law 23.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...