Jump to content

Careless or beyond?


Pig Trader

Recommended Posts

[hv=pc=n&s=shat95dc&w=shj76dkc&n=shkq8dcj&e=sahd85cq]399|300[/hv]

 

This was from the A Final of the Pairs at last weekend's EBU Seniors Congress. West is in 4 and South is on lead. West says "Dummy is high".

 

Dummy will ruff the heart return. Do we allow declarer to unblock K on Q next? The Strength of Field is about 60%, for those familiar with the NGS.

 

I thought this was close but favoured one solution over the other. Both my colleagues thought as I did, one of whom thought it also worth posting, so how think the IBLF panel? :rolleyes:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Except that "dummy is high" means you will take the remaining tricks in the dummy. I think I will be chicken and give a weighted score.

Are weighted scores permitted when ruling on a claim? I was thinking you must decide on a specific number of tricks.

 

I'm in the ACBL so we haven't been using weighted scores. Starts January 1!

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My understanding is that a claim ruling is not an adjusted score (Law 12), so you can't give a weighted score.

 

"Dummy is high" is not a true statement when declarer has the top diamond in his hand. It would be careless to unblock, and he didn't mention doing so, so he loses the last two tricks. Law 70.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think it is pretty clear declarer missed the blocking.

 

I would like to put a different view upon it. The Unblocking was not included in the clarification and it can be said that a ruling turns on that fact, plus, if it is determined as fact that the clarification was not interrupted by an opponent.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would like to put a different view upon it. The Unblocking was not included in the clarification and it can be said that a ruling turns on that fact, plus, if it is determined as fact that the clarification was not interrupted by an opponent.

I don't think I understand what you are trying to say here.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would like to put a different view upon it. The Unblocking was not included in the clarification and it can be said that a ruling turns on that fact, plus, if it is determined as fact that the clarification was not interrupted by an opponent.

I don't think I understand what you are trying to say here.

I think what he says is that if an opponent interrupted the clarification which otherwise might have included mentioning the blockage then not mentioning the blockage shall not be held against the claimer. And I agree with this.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think what he says is that if an opponent interrupted the clarification which otherwise might have included mentioning the blockage then not mentioning the blockage shall not be held against the claimer. And I agree with this.

Sure, if we are moving on to discussing some other hypothetical case.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

The actual effect of telling a good player that he is deemed to play like a moron is that he won't claim again and the game will slow down even further.

Agree totally with this post, since you stated a valid general point. However in specific to this case, it should tell that "good player" to clean up his claims by mentioning the unblock which is so obvious to him.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I disagree with the majority here, and would allow the claim. It seems to me that by saying "dummy is high", declarer has implied that he does not intend to win a trick with the K. (Indeed, had the J been out I would rule on the basis that he would still "unblock", and would give the defence two tricks rather than one as a consequence.)
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I disagree with the majority here, and would allow the claim. It seems to me that by saying "dummy is high", declarer has implied that he does not intend to win a trick with the K. (Indeed, had the J been out I would rule on the basis that he would still "unblock", and would give the defence two tricks rather than one as a consequence.)

So, if West had a club instead of on of his hearts, you would disallow the claim because one of the tricks had to be won by the king of diamonds, and therefore dummy is not high? The correct procedure with all claims is to give the claimer the worst line that is careless. Here that is not to discard the king of diamonds. If West had a club, it would be worse than careless not to play a diamond before using both entries.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...