wzhong Posted September 29, 2015 Report Share Posted September 29, 2015 In SAYC, opener North opens with 1♠, E bids DBL, South (responder) bids of 2♠ or 3♠. Is it stop bid or opener should following SAYC rule (ignore E's DBL bid)? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hevnandhel Posted September 29, 2015 Report Share Posted September 29, 2015 SAYC, as far as I can tell, does not define what these raises after a double indicate. However, many people play these raises as weak or preemptive. Stronger hands can redouble and/or use a convention such as Jordan/Truscott 2NT (or variants such as Flip Flop). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hevnandhel Posted September 29, 2015 Report Share Posted September 29, 2015 I may have to correct myself; the SAYC pamphlet does include a section on competitive bidding which states: "Bids mean the same things they meant without the intervening bid". So 1♠-(X)-3♠ would still be a limit raise. But that's not how many people would play it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jodepp Posted September 29, 2015 Report Share Posted September 29, 2015 It is my understanding that 1♠-X-3♠ is standard, and thus SAYC. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stephen Tu Posted September 29, 2015 Report Share Posted September 29, 2015 The printed SAYC card notes that over double, 2nt is limit raise after both major & minor openings. This implies that 1♠-x-3♠ is weak, which is a pretty standard treatment. 1♠-x-2♠, though is the normal raise strength = what it would be without double. In order to play this as weaker than a standard raise, you need a different bid for the top end of a normal raise, e.g. xfers over a major double or BROMAD, which SAYC doesn't include. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
case_no_6 Posted September 30, 2015 Report Share Posted September 30, 2015 According to modern practice and dating to at least as early as 1950-ish, raises to any level after a takeout double are obstructive (preemptive). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelandakh Posted October 1, 2015 Report Share Posted October 1, 2015 The SAYC booklet explicitly mentions (towards the bottom of page 7) that a double jump is preemptive after a takeout double. This is an exception to the standard rule of bids retaining their normal meanings after interference. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TylerE Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 But this is only a SINGLE jump, not a double jump. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelandakh Posted October 2, 2015 Report Share Posted October 2, 2015 But this is only a SINGLE jump, not a double jump.I meant a raise from 1 to 3 after a double. If you take a look at the booklet you will see it there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.