mike777 Posted August 16, 2015 Report Share Posted August 16, 2015 If I understand it...... in 2nd quarter there is an appeal. the decision given at end very end of match is 2 imps. If correct this feels wrong to not be given decision earlier. Not clear but perhaps this decision was in fact given earlier.....if so okthe timing is not clear.... http://www.acbl.org/nabc/2015/02/bulletins/db9.pdf "There was, however, an appeal of a ruling on aboard played in the second quarter of the match. Theissue was a break in tempo, on which the tournamentdirector called to the table made no adjustment. Theappeals committee overturned the director’s ruling,a decision that cost the Schwartz team 2 IMPs.Schwartz’s 113-112 victory turned into a 112-111win for Cayne.In the other quarterfinal matches, the Lavazza" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ArtK78 Posted August 16, 2015 Report Share Posted August 16, 2015 This has been discussed extensively on Bridge Winners. See http://bridgewinners...tz-cayne-match/ There are points to be made for holding the committee meeting immediately. However, the prevailing view is that there is no reason to use the dinner break for a committee meeting that may not be necessary. The result of the match may make the amount in controversy on the potential appeal irrelevant. As far as knowing the result of the appeal earlier possibly influencing the play of the players later in the match, that might be true if a large swing were involved, but that is not the case here. At most, the appeal might have changed the table result by 2 IMPs in one direction or, less likely, 3 IMPs in the other direction. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jogs Posted August 17, 2015 Report Share Posted August 17, 2015 Where was the BIT? Was it the passed hand when bidding 3♠? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Posted August 17, 2015 Report Share Posted August 17, 2015 EDIT: Rubish. Reading the AC on today's bulletin, they ruled that 5♠ bid was based on missinformation, Fisher explained that EW's agreements regarding forcing pass afected their agreements towards forcing passes over 5♥. AC ruled the board result back to 5♥ making. South seemed focused on west bidding over a non forcing pass situation based on UI, so I can udnerstand why he only remembered that a forcing pass would change their agreements after Directors ruling and not before. However why is a forcing pass alertable?, specially after a game forcing cuebid. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted August 17, 2015 Report Share Posted August 17, 2015 The ACBL alert regulation says "highly unusual and unexpected" passes (among other things) require an alert. Whether this particular pass meets that criterion I can't say. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Posted August 17, 2015 Report Share Posted August 17, 2015 IMO if south has those rare agreements where opps FP changeshis own FP he should protect himself and ask. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelandakh Posted August 17, 2015 Report Share Posted August 17, 2015 No need to ask if your mates on the committee will help you out is there? ;) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.