kb49 Posted March 6, 2015 Report Share Posted March 6, 2015 English Bridge Union I am aware that Gerber is not used by most, if not all, of the best bridge players. They have far better systems at their disposal. Unfortunately I still come across many club players who use their version of Gerber. I was taught many years ago to use Gerber (4♣)only after a 1NT or 2NT opening by partner. Players are using Gerber after their partner opens with a suit bid. Is this illegal? What action should a Director take if attention is drawn to this bid by their opponents. There is added confusion to this problem because of the change in EBU regulations that stated that players do not alert bids above 3NT. A recent regulation now states that during the first round of bidding an artificial bid above 3NT should be alerted. Is this Gerber problem common or am I living in a time warp. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted March 6, 2015 Report Share Posted March 6, 2015 It's certainly legal, from memory pretty much any game forcing bid is allowed at any time. It is alertable if in the first round (not including passes before the first bid). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted March 6, 2015 Report Share Posted March 6, 2015 Gerber is of course legal. By the way, it is not good disclosure to say "Gerber" if opponents ask what 4♣ means. It is easy enough to say "asking for aces". Yes if first-round artificial bids must be alerted then this obviously applies to Gerber as well, as long as it is used in the first round. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted March 6, 2015 Report Share Posted March 6, 2015 "Is this illegal?" No. "What action should a Director take if attention is drawn to this bid by their opponents." None, even if called to the table. Well, I suppose he should tell them there's been no irregularity and to carry on. That people have agreements not in accordance with what you (or anyone) was taught is not illegal. What Gerber problem? If people follow the rules, what's the problem? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paulg Posted March 6, 2015 Report Share Posted March 6, 2015 The vast majority of clubs and all EBU events except for specific beginner events are designated Level 4. The only methods regulated at Level 4 are a player’s initial pass, opening bids below 3NT and immediate overcalls. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted March 6, 2015 Report Share Posted March 6, 2015 I don't think there is a problem per se. A 4C bid on the first round of bidding has to be alerted - otherwise not. Pairs can agree when, or not, to use Gerber. In theory there might be UI if one person of the pair thinks the bid is Gerber and the other doesn't - but it is unlikely that this will happen. 1H : 1S: 4C alerted and explained as 'Gerber' - in fact it was intended to show a 7-card club suit and pre-empt 4th from bidding.4H : X: ? UI suggests this is 2 Aces. AI would say that it shows a strong Heart hand. If the 4C bidder takes the double out they had better have a good reason. (sighing, groaning and then putting down 5C is NOT a good reason:)) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanor Fow Posted March 11, 2015 Report Share Posted March 11, 2015 It's worth noting that the first round of bidding, with regards to alerts, starts from when the first bid is made, rather than the first pass. p-p-p-1hp-4c Would still be alerted if not natural (I realise that a passed hand bidding gerber would be unusual, but a splinter is possible). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted March 11, 2015 Report Share Posted March 11, 2015 It's worth noting that the first round of bidding, with regards to alerts, starts from when the first bid is made, rather than the first pass. p-p-p-1hp-4c Would still be alerted if not natural (I realise that a passed hand bidding gerber would be unusual, but a splinter is possible). Yes - should have made that plain - mea culpa. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TylerE Posted March 12, 2015 Report Share Posted March 12, 2015 The only possible grounds for a ruling or action would be if the opponents fail to alert (if required) or otherwise disclose the nature of the 4♣ bid, however EBU regs (which I'm not in the slightest familiar with) say to do. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
VixTD Posted March 12, 2015 Report Share Posted March 12, 2015 I am aware that Gerber is not used by most, if not all, of the best bridge players. They have far better systems at their disposal. Unfortunately I still come across many club players who use their version of Gerber. I was taught many years ago to use Gerber (4♣)only after a 1NT or 2NT opening by partner. Players are using Gerber after their partner opens with a suit bid. Is this illegal?Far from being illegal, it is even recommended by some noted authors in other situations. Marty Bergen advocates it after pre-empts, as does Kantar (also after 1NT and 2NT rebids). Kantar doesn't always refer to it as Gerber, of course. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted March 13, 2015 Report Share Posted March 13, 2015 Far from being illegal, it is even recommended by some noted authors in other situations. Marty Bergen advocates it after pre-empts, as does Kantar (also after 1NT and 2NT rebids). Kantar doesn't always refer to it as Gerber, of course. Many under-rate Gerber but see Rainbow Gerber Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelandakh Posted March 13, 2015 Report Share Posted March 13, 2015 Revolving RKCG, Revolving Exclusion RKCG and Revolving Exclusion 6KCG for the win! The last of these is such a coup you can consider yourself a winner for using it even if you go down. :D Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.