Poky Posted March 9, 2005 Report Share Posted March 9, 2005 IMP. We vul. 1♦ 2♦ Dbl 4♥5♣ Pa Pa 5♥6♣ Pa Pa DblAll pass ♠Jxxxx♥KQxxx♦x♣Qx What do you lead and WHY? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
inquiry Posted March 9, 2005 Report Share Posted March 9, 2005 Double here is lightner, asking for an unusual lead (or partner has two tricks and I can sit back and relax... so I will defend like it is lghtner). So a trump lead is out, and a heart lead is out. That leaves us with a spade and a diamond. In theory, this probably ask for a diamond lead but I am looking at a singleton diamond myself. Given they ended up in clubs it is not possible partner is ruffing a diamond. The one suit I am not going to lead is a heart. Maybe partner has diamond Ace fairly long and thinks if I lead a diamond he might be able to give me a rough. Maybe partner has a sure trump trick. like Ax, and a second round of diamonds will be a trump promotion keeping declearer from guessing correctly the doubleton queen. Partner can't know for sure I even have a diamond, or if I ahve two diamonds, so a double based upon my getting a diamond ruff implies a lot of wishful thinking on his part. So with most partners, I might start a spade, playig partner for AKx or AQx of spades. But I think the double implies a trick in the minors as well, so either diamond ACE or club ACE (club king would not be a sure trick), so I will start with the diamond, expecting to make a diamond ruff in my hand. Ben Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
han Posted March 9, 2005 Report Share Posted March 9, 2005 A diamond for me too, we'll set it if partner has either minor suit ace. I would never consider a 2D bid with this hand and these colors. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cherdano Posted March 9, 2005 Report Share Posted March 9, 2005 Is this really a lightner double? Maybe partner bid 4♥ and 5♥ to make (especially given the vuln), and 6♣ is a sacrifice? Arend Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ArcLight Posted March 9, 2005 Report Share Posted March 9, 2005 One thing pard should not do is make a double based on the fact he expects to beat the contract because he holds 2 Aces. The double asks for an unusual lead.That means Hearts are out. Pard probably has a few diamonds, and can infer you are short. Leading a singleton is always to be considered, so a double wouldn't be necessary. The only remaining choice is Spades. Lead a Spade. --------- Hand Analysis -----------What can be infered about the distribution?Pard has at least 5 Hearts. He went to the 5 level so he may even have 6, and or the Ace. If he's void in Spades then he has 8 or 7 cards in the minors, probably more in Diamonds than Clubs. 4-4, 5-3 or 4-3, 5-2 Dummy didn't care for Diamonds, but accepted Clubs. (I assume his double ws a negative double, implying shortness in Diamonds). He cant have many hearts, (max of 3, lets assume 1-2), so he must have a several Spades, lets say :2♦ 2♥ 4♣ 5♠ Declarer has the same number or more ♦ than ♣, perhaps 5-5 or 5-4. Along with 1 ♥ and 2-3♠. Without the Double I couldn't be sure, but with it I think its certain that pard is void in ♠. Lead the Spade. I just hope that pard has a winner in a suit other than Hearts, as we may take no Hearts tricks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Winstonm Posted March 9, 2005 Report Share Posted March 9, 2005 Count card in spades. I don't see this as a pure lead-directing double situation - partner did not show particular weakness on this auction. I view the double as a warning not to bid on and expect partner to have a quick trick in spades and a quick diamond entry. I believe that if partner thought a heart would cash he could simply pass and had he wanted a diamond lead he could have bid 5D over 5C. I expect partner to hold on the lines of: KQJxxxxxAxxxxx While a diamond lead on this hand might work, it could prove disastrous if dummy held a stiff diamond as well and could over ruff the Q of clubs. Anyway, those are my thoughts for what they are worth. WinstonM Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
luke warm Posted March 9, 2005 Report Share Posted March 9, 2005 if he didn't want me to lead a diamond, he shouldn't have doubled... he knows how easily i'm confused... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Free Posted March 10, 2005 Report Share Posted March 10, 2005 Following the rules, I'd say ♠. Following the logic, I'd say ♦... I voted ♠ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poky Posted March 10, 2005 Author Report Share Posted March 10, 2005 [hv=d=w&v=n&n=sjxxxxhkqxxxdxcqx&w=sahxdkjtxxxcatxxx&e=skt9xhxdqxxckjxxx&s=sqxxhajtxxxdaxxcx]399|300|Scoring: IMP[/hv] Diamond = +500Heart = +300Spade = -1090Club = -1090 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike777 Posted March 10, 2005 Report Share Posted March 10, 2005 Strongly disagree with P double. Why double a voluntary bid slam? Disagree with most of the bidding on this hand. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TimG Posted March 10, 2005 Report Share Posted March 10, 2005 IMP. We vul. 1♦ 2♦ Dbl 4♥5♣ Pa Pa 5♥6♣ Pa Pa DblAll pass ♠Jxxxx♥KQxxx♦x♣Qx What do you lead and WHY? I don't get it: why did I double? Why did I bid 4♥ and then 5♥? Wouldn't it have been better to bid 5♥ directly? And, why are youasking me to lead out of turn? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
inquiry Posted March 10, 2005 Report Share Posted March 10, 2005 IMP. We vul. 1♦ 2♦ Dbl 4♥5♣ Pa Pa 5♥6♣ Pa Pa DblAll pass ♠Jxxxx♥KQxxx♦x♣Qx What do you lead and WHY? I don't get it: why did I double? Why did I bid 4♥ and then 5♥? Wouldn't it have been better to bid 5♥ directly? And, why are youasking me to lead out of turn? You bid 2♦ (michaels).. your partner did all the subsequent heart bidding and doubling. Ben Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TimG Posted March 11, 2005 Report Share Posted March 11, 2005 IMP. We vul. 1♦ 2♦ Dbl 4♥5♣ Pa Pa 5♥6♣ Pa Pa DblAll pass ♠Jxxxx♥KQxxx♦x♣Qx What do you lead and WHY? I don't get it: why did I double? Why did I bid 4♥ and then 5♥? Wouldn't it have been better to bid 5♥ directly? And, why are youasking me to lead out of turn? You bid 2♦ (michaels).. No wonder I was confused! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.