cush Posted January 30, 2015 Report Share Posted January 30, 2015 I played against a pair recently who played a 2NT opener as a 2 suiter with any 2 suits excluding spades. Is this legal? I have looked in the Orange Book and succeeded only in confusing myself! Thanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted January 30, 2015 Report Share Posted January 30, 2015 Hi Cush, welcome to the forum! When posting questions about regulations one should specify which jurisdiction you are asking about. Since you mention the Orange Book, I assume you mean EBU. By the way, the Orange Book has ben replaced by the Blue Book. Any combination of meanings that show either or both of1)At least five cards in a suit, specified or not, which must not be the suit opened, and/or2)At least 5-4 in two suits, either or both of which may be specified or not, but both of which must not be the suit openedFor an opening bid of 2NT' date=' (....) for b(iv) there are no restrictions on which suit(s) may be shown[/quote'] So it is ok, at least at level 4. At level 2 it is not allowed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahydra Posted January 30, 2015 Report Share Posted January 30, 2015 By the reference to "Orange Book" I'm assuming this is EBU. However the Orange Book is now retired, replaced by the Blue Book. At Level 4, 2NT is covered by 7 C 1 and I think this is legal under paragraph (iv) Any combination of meanings that show either or both of1) At least five cards in a suit, specified or not, which must not be the suit opened, and/or2) At least 5-4 in two suits, either or both of which may be specified or not, but both of which must not be the suit opened. when combined with note (a) For an opening bid of 2NT... for b(iv) there are no restrictions on which suit(s) may be shown This 2NT is not allowed at Level 2 (6 D 3), nor at (the now obsolete) Level 3 unless it shows a strong hand (extended rule of 25) (8 C 4). edit: damn, cross-posted with helene ahydra Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted January 30, 2015 Report Share Posted January 30, 2015 The current EBU "book" is blue, not orange, but it can still be a might confusing. B-) As I read it, though, the opening is permitted at Level 4 under 7C1{b}{iv}{2}. It would not be permitted at Level 3, if your club still uses that level (see chapter 8, in particular 8B4). I could be wrong, so hopefully one of our English TDs can confirm or correct. If it's not allowed at Level 4, it's certainly allowed at Level 5. See 9A3{a}. Sheesh. I took too long. Again. B-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cush Posted January 30, 2015 Author Report Share Posted January 30, 2015 Thanks to all for the speedy replies. Very helpful even if I got the colour of the book wrong! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted January 30, 2015 Report Share Posted January 30, 2015 If it's not allowed at Level 4, it's certainly allowed at Level 5. See 9A3{a}. 2NT showing a weak two-suiter without spades is "brown sticker" (is weak and has no known suit), so if it were not permitted at level 4 then it would not be permitted at level 5. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted January 31, 2015 Report Share Posted January 31, 2015 2NT showing a weak two-suiter without spades is "brown sticker" (is weak and has no known suit), so if it were not permitted at level 4 then it would not be permitted at level 5.It seems I misread 9A3. :ph34r: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jallerton Posted February 2, 2015 Report Share Posted February 2, 2015 The current EBU "book" is blue, not orange, but it can still be a might confusing. B-) As I read it, though, the opening is permitted at Level 4 under 7C1{b}{iv}{2}. It would not be permitted at Level 3, if your club still uses that level (see chapter 8, in particular 8B4). I could be wrong, so hopefully one of our English TDs can confirm or correct. If it's not allowed at Level 4, it's certainly allowed at Level 5. See 9A3{a}. Sheesh. I took too long. Again. B-) It's also confusing to call something which is no longer printed a "book". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted February 2, 2015 Report Share Posted February 2, 2015 It's also confusing to call something which is no longer printed a "book".Is it? What else would you call it? "ebook", I suppose? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
campboy Posted February 5, 2015 Report Share Posted February 5, 2015 It's also confusing to call something which is no longer printed a "book".The Blue Book was printed (and sold at Brighton) in 2013. There was no 2014 printing, but I was told this was only because the changes to the text were sufficiently minor it was not thought worthwhile. Certainly my impression was that future print runs could be anticipated. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted February 10, 2015 Report Share Posted February 10, 2015 Ergo, it's a book. :lol: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weejonnie Posted February 11, 2015 Report Share Posted February 11, 2015 I have a copy of the 'Blue book' - mind you the front is 75% white with only a small bit of blue in the middle. It has certainly made life easier to work out what calls are allowable (Only the opening bid and the immediate call after are regulated.) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanor Fow Posted February 11, 2015 Report Share Posted February 11, 2015 Even if most of the cover is white, I would suggest calling it the 'White Book' might be confusing :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.