Ethel Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 At a table the other night. The North player made as if to bid. He had his hands on the Bidding Box and had quarter pulled out a bid (that no one saw) when his partner said ' It's not your bid. He immediately pushed the bidding box cards back in the bidding box. His LHO called the director. What should the ruling be? It was South's turn to bid. (North's partner). Sorry ACBL jurisdiction Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mgoetze Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 The fact that North meant to open the bidding is UI to South, if the opps feel damaged, call back. Otherwise, carry on as normal. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 The fact that North meant to open the bidding is UI to South, if the opps feel damaged, call back. Otherwise, carry on as normal.That would be my vote. I am sure, someone will explain how this practical solution is breaking the laws. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 It is the correct solution unless there is a (local) regulation in force that states that a call has been made as soon as the player touches any card from the bidding box. (I am not aware of any regulating authority with such a regulation!) (The fact that nobody saw the card he was about to use is irrelevant for this ruling! What they in case saw is part of the UI in question.) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 I would expect from the description that if anybody saw what bidding card North was interested in, it would be one of EW, not South. So the UI is that North was interested in making a bid, not that he was interested in making a particular bid. The relevant laws are 18F, its associated regulation (and in the ACBL, Election #2 in the back of the law book) and Law 16B (and possibly Law 12 later). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jallerton Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 At a table the other night. The North player made as if to bid. He had his hands on the Bidding Box and had quarter pulled out a bid (that no one saw) when his partner said ' It's not your bid. He immediately pushed the bidding box cards back in the bidding box. His LHO called the director. What should the ruling be? It was South's turn to bid. (North's partner). In which country are you located? It is the correct solution unless there is a (local) regulation in force that states that a call has been made as soon as the player touches any card from the bidding box. (I am not aware of any regulating authority with such a regulation!) (The fact that nobody saw the card he was about to use is irrelevant for this ruling! What they in case saw is part of the UI in question.) In the EBU a call is made "when removed from the bidding box with apparent intent" I'm not sure whether 'quarter pulled out a bid' counts or not! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted December 13, 2014 Report Share Posted December 13, 2014 In which country are you located? In the EBU a call is made "when removed from the bidding box with apparent intent" I'm not sure whether 'quarter pulled out a bid' counts or not!The card hasn't been "removed" from the box before it is completely free from the box. If they intend an earlier time limit then they should find a different description, for instance (similar to chess rules) "when a card has been touched with apparent intent". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ethel Posted December 14, 2014 Author Report Share Posted December 14, 2014 Thank you all very much. Happy I made the correct ruling. There was no damage to the non-offending side. The offending side got mixed up and the non offenders got a top board!! :lol: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.