paulg Posted November 26, 2014 Report Share Posted November 26, 2014 LAW 82 - RECTIFICATION OF ERRORS OF PROCEDUREC. Director's ErrorIf a ruling has been given that the Director subsequently determines to be incorrect, and if no rectification will allow the board to be scored normally, he shall award an adjusted score, treating both sides as non-offending for that purpose.Do a tournament's correction periods apply to this power or can the Director change his ruling at any point in the future? In the case in question, the Director gave an illegal ruling initially. There was no appeal since the players were vastly less experienced than the Director and just accepted his decision with good grace. Subsequently the Director has realised the error of his ways and wishes to reinstate the table result, but can he do this if it is outside the usual correction periods? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted November 26, 2014 Report Share Posted November 26, 2014 I think the Director's power/duty to rectify errors under Law 82 is subject to Law 81: in particular, Law 81C3 allows rectification of errors within the correction period. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted November 26, 2014 Report Share Posted November 26, 2014 Law 81C3: The Director’s duties and powers normally include …3. to rectify an error or irregularity of which he becomes aware in any manner, within the correction period established in accordance with Law 79C.Amplifying Robin's comment, this says, or at least implies, that the TD cannot correct TD error after the correction period. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.