Jump to content

Lead out of turn


lmilne

Recommended Posts

I'm sure this has been answered before, but...

 

The auction is over, EW are playing spades, and West has bid spades first.

 

South asks whose lead it is and both East and West agree that it is South's (when it is actually North's).

 

South leads and North points out that perhaps they shouldn't have. Should this simply be treated as a lead out of turn or are there other considerations? If it is simply a lead out of turn, doesn't this open the door to gamesmanship?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

As a Player, if our side had told the wrong person it was his/her lead, I would excercise Option Two. Accept the lead and lay down "dummy".

 

I wonder if I could get a Law 23 adverse ruling if our erroneous answer right-sided the contract.

 

Yes, your OP has been discussed before. But Ed will probably have a better response to your question.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A lead out of turn (or play of a card) may be retracted without further rectification if the player was mistakenly informed by an opponent that it was his turn to lead or play. A lead or play may not be accepted by his LHO in these circumstances.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...