kb49 Posted May 9, 2014 Report Share Posted May 9, 2014 EBU Declarer, who was on lead from dummy, said 'Di' and then immediately said 'Club'. Their opponents insisted she played a Diamond. I have checked the law book and Law 46 B2 states that if declarer designates a suit but not a rank he is deemed to have called the lowest card of the suit indicated. Would that law apply in this case where the suit was not clearly stated and the correction made instantly? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manudude03 Posted May 9, 2014 Report Share Posted May 9, 2014 Law 45C4b:Until his partner has played a card a player may change an unintended designation if he does so without pause for thought. If an opponent has, in turn, played a card that was legal before the change in designation, that opponent may withdraw the card so played, return it to his hand, and substitute another (see Laws 47D and 16D1). 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahydra Posted May 9, 2014 Report Share Posted May 9, 2014 So two questions:- was there a pause for thought- does "Di", rather than "Diamond", actually count as a designation. It sounds like we don't know the answer to the first - that's for the TD to judge. But I'd be happy to rule that "Di" does not count as a designation. So declarer is deemed to have called for a low club in this case, never a diamond. ahydra Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dave251164 Posted May 9, 2014 Report Share Posted May 9, 2014 He hasn't even finished designating a suit or rank when he says 'Di', so it's not a change of call as he never made a call in the first place, until that is he said 'Club', which means the lowest club as no rank was given. For all we know his partner could be called 'Di' or even 'Dai' (pronounced the same and what lots of David's are known as in Wales) and it could have been 'Di a Club'! And as for the opponents they shouldn't be insisting that he do anything - they should just call the TD if they have a problem. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted May 9, 2014 Report Share Posted May 9, 2014 For all we know his partner could be called 'Di' or even 'Dai' (pronounced the same and what lots of David's are known as in Wales) and it could have been 'Di a Club'! Since this isn't one of Lamford's SB hypos, I think we can assume that the players know whether dummy's name is Di and can tell the difference between declarer addressing partner and starting to name a card. If that's how he asks dummy to play, it probably wouldn't be the first time, and the opponents would be used to it. Damn, now I'm thinking of singing "Di, Di, Diamond" at my next Seder. :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted May 9, 2014 Report Share Posted May 9, 2014 Whatever it is the spoken syllable "Di" is not a designation for a card, not even an incomplete designation that can be subject to Law 46. An analogy: If a player says "Two" and then corrects it to "No, Three Spades" would anybody rule insufficient bid (Law 27) or change of call (Law 25) when the last bid from RHO was for instance Three Diamonds? ("Two" is not a Call.) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.