Hanoi5 Posted February 7, 2014 Report Share Posted February 7, 2014 [hv=d=n&v=0&b=1&a=1s2hp3dp3sx4h(West%20tried%20to%20bid%203%21h%20but%20had%20to%20settle%20for%204%20when%20the%20Director%20was%20called%20to%20tha%20table)ppdpp5dxppp]460|200[/hv] West had bid 3♥ tried to change it to 4, the director was called he allowed the change to 4♥ without penalty. 5♦ was made, so South called the Director again and said that East action was influenced by West's insufficient bid. How would you rule? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Molyb Posted February 7, 2014 Report Share Posted February 7, 2014 Can I see the hands or is that unauthorized information? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted February 7, 2014 Report Share Posted February 7, 2014 If my partner had bid 3D earlier, constructive but not forcing, I would already know she only had 2 hearts at most...then exactly two hearts would be later confirmed by 4H with or without the 3H IB. The only possible UI from the withdrawn 3H would be hand strength, not strain concerns. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted February 7, 2014 Report Share Posted February 7, 2014 West had bid 3♥ tried to change it to 4, the director was called he allowed the change to 4♥ without penalty. Did the TD allow the change under Law 25A, ruling that 3♥ was unintended; or did the TD rule that a change to 4♥ was permitted and would not silence partner, under Law 27B1(a). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
campboy Posted February 7, 2014 Report Share Posted February 7, 2014 Assuming the call was allowed to be changed under 27B1a, the withdrawn call is not UI (that law specifies that 16D does not apply). However we could still adjust the score if we think the OS would likely have gotten a worse score without the insufficient bid (27D). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted February 7, 2014 Report Share Posted February 7, 2014 Is it at all clear that the information from 3♥ could suggest bidding 5♦, under whichever law (Law 16B or Law 27D)? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted February 7, 2014 Report Share Posted February 7, 2014 I know that this is peripheral to the main issue, but did the director allow the change of bid without giving N the chance to accept the IB? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hanoi5 Posted February 7, 2014 Author Report Share Posted February 7, 2014 I'm sorry for the mistakes made. South had doubled 3♠ asking for a lead. The Director gave all the options to North who decided not to accept 3♥ and also explained correctly that if the bid was changed to anything other than 4♥ East would have to pass for the rest of the bid. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted February 7, 2014 Report Share Posted February 7, 2014 I'm sorry for the mistakes made. South had doubled 3♠ asking for a lead. The Director gave all the options to North who decided not to accept 3♥ and also explained correctly that if the bid was changed to anything other than 4♥ East would have to pass for the rest of the bid.The OP omissions now expressed don't seem to change anything. I can't see any use of UI pertaining to strain (or any UI existing relative to strain). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ggwhiz Posted February 7, 2014 Report Share Posted February 7, 2014 Since the attempt to bid 3♥ instead of 4 would most naturally address the strength and not the shape, move on there is nothing to see here. Could it be that the double of 4♥ is a self inflicted debacle (as in doubling the only thing you can beat)? I've seen it often enough to have zero sympathy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted February 7, 2014 Report Share Posted February 7, 2014 Since the attempt to bid 3♥ instead of 4 would most naturally address the strength and not the shape, move on there is nothing to see here. Devil advocate: 3♥ shows more doubt about strain that 4♥ because there is room for partner to bid 4♦ over 3♥ which could be raised to 5♦. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.