Jump to content

Insufficient bid, penalty double and...


Hanoi5

Recommended Posts

[hv=d=n&v=0&b=1&a=1s2hp3dp3sx4h(West%20tried%20to%20bid%203%21h%20but%20had%20to%20settle%20for%204%20when%20the%20Director%20was%20called%20to%20tha%20table)ppdpp5dxppp]460|200[/hv]

 

West had bid 3 tried to change it to 4, the director was called he allowed the change to 4 without penalty.

 

5 was made, so South called the Director again and said that East action was influenced by West's insufficient bid. How would you rule?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If my partner had bid 3D earlier, constructive but not forcing, I would already know she only had 2 hearts at most...then exactly two hearts would be later confirmed by 4H with or without the 3H IB.

 

The only possible UI from the withdrawn 3H would be hand strength, not strain concerns.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

West had bid 3 tried to change it to 4, the director was called he allowed the change to 4 without penalty.

 

Did the TD allow the change under Law 25A, ruling that 3 was unintended; or did the TD rule that a change to 4 was permitted and would not silence partner, under Law 27B1(a).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm sorry for the mistakes made. South had doubled 3 asking for a lead. The Director gave all the options to North who decided not to accept 3 and also explained correctly that if the bid was changed to anything other than 4 East would have to pass for the rest of the bid.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm sorry for the mistakes made. South had doubled 3 asking for a lead. The Director gave all the options to North who decided not to accept 3 and also explained correctly that if the bid was changed to anything other than 4 East would have to pass for the rest of the bid.

The OP omissions now expressed don't seem to change anything. I can't see any use of UI pertaining to strain (or any UI existing relative to strain).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Since the attempt to bid 3 instead of 4 would most naturally address the strength and not the shape, move on there is nothing to see here.

 

Could it be that the double of 4 is a self inflicted debacle (as in doubling the only thing you can beat)? I've seen it often enough to have zero sympathy.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Since the attempt to bid 3 instead of 4 would most naturally address the strength and not the shape, move on there is nothing to see here.

 

Devil advocate: 3 shows more doubt about strain that 4 because there is room for partner to bid 4 over 3 which could be raised to 5.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...