arya_01 Posted January 24, 2014 Report Share Posted January 24, 2014 I just re-bid 3NT because my partner the robot bid 2NT http://tinyurl.com/lxz86xn I wish I knew how to past a picture here .. but anyhow, N-E-S-W bidding went P-p-1D-p-2NT-p-3NT looking at my partner (north) hand you see AKT-54-J62-KT853the explanation said partial stop in S,H, and C with my 13 hcp , I went ahead and bid 3NT, North robot made 3NT when East switched from H to S at trick twoit looks like two wrongs make a right any body have any idea how 54 in H would consitute a partial stopper ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrAce Posted January 24, 2014 Report Share Posted January 24, 2014 N should have started 2♣ but GIB does and explain things only known to god and its programmer now and then. As you probably observed GIB also plays the way it plays only known to god and its programmer as well. GIB did its best to go down had W held Jxxx ♣. Starting to play the club suit by cashing ♣ K was....oh well....http://www.bridgebase.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif You already mentioned switching from ♥ to spade suit. But this may not actually be as bad as the play by N. GIB E probably played N for holding the ♥ A due to explanation of 2 NT. Do not lose your faith in GIB though, especially for the N/B level, GIB plays better than any other N/B player in long run. Impo GIB plays better than big majority of intermediate players in long run as well. Did you try setting the GIB speed to slower, because it helps GIB to do better in JAVA version, and i think the GIB in web version is much better than the old one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bbradley62 Posted January 25, 2014 Report Share Posted January 25, 2014 ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antrax Posted January 25, 2014 Report Share Posted January 25, 2014 GIB isn't a great bidding teacher.You can consider the fact that if responder bids NT after a minor-suit opening, it means he has no four-card major to bid. That leaves him with at least seven minor-suit cards, so he must have a four-card minor, so you must have a minor-suit fit.That being said, it's much harder to take 11 tricks than 9, so 3NT still seems like a good bid, to me, unless you have methods to tell whether you belong in 5m or 3NT, and you don't with GIB. If GIB doesn't have a heart stopper you will lose at least two heart tricks in either contract, and for 5m it would be harder to recover since you'd have to win all the rest. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1eyedjack Posted January 25, 2014 Report Share Posted January 25, 2014 I wish I knew how to past a picture here Here is your hand[hv=sn=arya_01&s=S76H63DAK874CAQ64&wn=Robot&w=S8543HA72DQT95CJ7&nn=Robot&n=SAKTH54DJ62CKT853&en=Robot&e=SQJ92HKQJT98D3C92&d=n&v=n&b=5&a=PP1D(Minor%20suit%20opening%20--%203+%20D%3B%2011-21%20HCP%3B%201)P2N(Balanced%20invite%20--%202-5%20C%3B%202-5%20D%3B%202-3%20H%3B%202-3%20S%3B%2011%20HCP%3B%2012-%20total%20points%3B%20partial%20stop%20in%20C%3B%20partial%20stop%20in%20H%3B%20partial%20stop%20in%20S)P3N(3+%20D%3B%205-%20H%3B%205-%20S%3B%2014-19%20HCP%3B%2022-%20total%20p)PPP&p=HKH6H7H4SQS6S8SACKC2C4C7D6D3DADTS7S4SKS2D2C9DKD5CACJC5HQCQH2CTS9C6D9C8HJC3H8D7S5STSJD8S3H9H3HAH5DQDJHTD4]380|270[/hv] To do this yourself:Click on the link that you posted.Copy the resulting expanded URL shown in the new handviewer window, into the clipboard.Paste the link into a text editor such as notepad (disabling wordwrap)replace the leading text "http://www.bridgebas...handviewer.html?" with "[ h v = " (excluding the quotes and remove all spaces, ie between "[" and "h" etc - I had to put in the spaces to post here else it would have started posting another hand diagram)Append the text "]380|270[/hv]" (excluding quotes) to the end of the string. The numbers denote the dimensions of the diagram, and you can change these.Copy the entire edited package to the clipboard and paste it into your post. There is a pinned thread that discusses this, herehttp://www.bridgebas...post__p__612249 Turning to the hand itself, describing it as "ridiculous" is an overbid. GIB does much worse things on occasion. As a general rule, if you have combined values for game, no major fit, and both hands are (fairly) balanced, you will not go far wrong in the long term if you forget about looking to ensure that all suits are guarded and just blast 3N. On this hand you have 9 top tricks on a non-heart lead, and yes a heart lead is the most likely but not certain. Swap East and West, for example. So in answer to the question "ridiculous or waht?", in respect of the bidding my answer would be "waht". The defensive error is more worthy of comment than the bidding, in my view. Why did West not overtake the ♥K and return the suit? GIB plays very few defensive signals, but as I understand it the one signal that it DOES play is an attitude signal on the A or K lead (high encouraging). Given that West does not play the Ace from that holding (and presumably East knows this as it is operating under the same program) the play of the 7, given the available spot cards and the fact that North has denied a 4 card major, can only indicate the presence of the Ace. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts