mr1303 Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 [hv=pc=n&e=saqt7hkj63da62cq3&d=e&v=n&b=2&a=1hd1s2n]133|200[/hv] What do you call here? (Supplementary post coming). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gnasher Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 I'd bid 3♠, and I didn't seriously consider anything else. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billw55 Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 I'd bid 3♠, and I didn't seriously consider anything else.White on red, and partner taking a freebid, I will seriously consider doubling 2NT. But first I will ask about it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahydra Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 Yes, what is 2NT? If natural, I double. If minors, I bid 3S. ahydra 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
c_corgi Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 3S. It seems like they are having a misunderstanding, or partner has psyched. In the former case I want to describe my hand as quickly and accurately as possible and in the latter I don't want to field it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ggwhiz Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 or partner has psyched. That's my bet but 3♠ is called for opposite long spades and a weak hand to get the lead against 3nt or whatever instead of a heart. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MickyB Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 That's my bet but 3♠ is called for opposite long spades and a weak hand to get the lead against 3nt or whatever instead of a heart. Bidding 3♠ will not get partner to lead a spade against 3NT. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 Bidding 3♠ will not get partner to lead a spade against 3NT... or at least declarer is unlikely to accept a spade lead from partner. Infraction-directing calls are little-understood part of the game. :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trinidad Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 3S. It seems like they are having a misunderstanding, or partner has psyched. In the former case I want to describe my hand as quickly and accurately as possible and in the latter I don't want to field it.Why wouldn't you want to field it? You (that is you, c_corgi) know just as much about this partner as your opponents: nothing. I can see the vulnerability. In addition, I can see that 16+11+13 doesn't leave a lot for my partner. I can also see that there are lots of spades in the deck. And my partner has never psyched in his life. 16HCP + 11HCP + 13HCP + 4 spades, a 2NT bid and a takeout double + favorable vulnerability = "partner has psyched." And I don't even know whether partner is male/female, black/white, tall/short! If you don't have a history with this partner, you can field all you want, at your own risk. Rik Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billw55 Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 Hmmm yes, partner could be in a classic tactical psyche situation. Weak, stiff or void spade, hearts to run to, white on red ... yeah, pretty suspicious. I guess much depends on my knowledge (or lack thereof) of this particular partner. Then again, there are two other bidders at the table as well, who might have pysched. Although their conditions are not nearly as ripe for it as partner's. Can we construct a layout where nobody has psyched? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 Why wouldn't you want to field it? You (that is you, c_corgi) know just as much about this partner as your opponents: nothing. I can see the vulnerability. In addition, I can see that 16+11+13 doesn't leave a lot for my partner. I can also see that there are lots of spades in the deck. And my partner has never psyched in his life. 16HCP + 11HCP + 13HCP + 4 spades, a 2NT bid and a takeout double + favorable vulnerability = "partner has psyched." And I don't even know whether partner is male/female, black/white, tall/short! If you don't have a history with this partner, you can field all you want, at your own risk. RikWell done, until we get an answer about 2NT. Maybe, just maybe, the shaggy dog is whether 2NT is alertable if not natural, here. I would immediately assume it showed 5+5+ minors and did not show much strength ---but would ask....and am not convinced that is alertable under the circumstances. 16+11+6(+) is a calculation available to all four players as well, and I think it would be my obligation to inquire. The reason it probably isn't alertable (2N) is because it should not be alerted if it is not an agreed-upon convention for this auction. If I find out that 2NT is a natural value bid by agreement, I will assume the Double at unfav was not the psyche; but I am more likely to find out from the doubler that he is guessing, too. So, I probably must Double here as Opener --and let partner reveal her psyche if she had one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trinidad Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 Can we construct a layout where nobody has psyched?I find it very hard. Say South has 10HCP and a 3154 distribution. North has 10 HCP and 2533, that leaves partner with 4HCP and 4324. Now essentially nobody has their bid. I could imagine that South has "an opening hand, too strong to overcall". Then South could e.g. hold 0454 with 12 HCP, North a 10 point 3433 hand and partner 2 HCP with 6124 distribution. I would not call that a psyche by any of the players. It shouldbe easy to find out by asking North what the double meant (or looking at the CC). Rik Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mr1303 Posted October 21, 2013 Author Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 2nt was not alerted, but you didn't ask. If you do ask, it's natural, 10-12 with a heart stopper. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mr1303 Posted October 21, 2013 Author Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 The double was normal take-out Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 If you do ask, it's natural, 10-12 with a heart stopper.I still would protect myself by doubling, not convinced that is a true agreement rather than a guess; and not taking a double shot for a ruling. Partner can still reveal by showing her obscene heart support if 2NTX floats to her. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gnasher Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 Why wouldn't you want to field it?In England (which is where the Autumn Congress takes place), if you field a psych you will be awarded 30%. Possibly that's the right thing to do anyway: if partner has psyched, 4♥x is likely to score less than 30%. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 In England (which is where the Autumn Congress takes place), if you field a psych you will be awarded 30%. Possibly that's the right thing to do anyway: if partner has psyched, 4♥x is likely to score less than 30%.I wouldn't think even in England using Bridge logic to work out a psyche carries a rigid automatic award (penalty); nor do I see any reason for Opener to bid 3S forcing 4H with that hand when he can double 3C via logic as well...allowing for the psyche because of the auction, not because of anything other than that. If Pard hasn't psyched Double will work well; if she has, she will bid 3H. No CPU, no nothing; just Bridge. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted October 21, 2013 Report Share Posted October 21, 2013 (This assumes it is MP, which looking back I can't see explicitly stated.)The hand that looks most like this was in the Teams Final (IMPs). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jallerton Posted October 22, 2013 Report Share Posted October 22, 2013 In England (which is where the Autumn Congress takes place), if you field a psych you will be awarded 30%. Possibly that's the right thing to do anyway: if partner has psyched, 4♥x is likely to score less than 30%. This reasoning brings backs memories of the old Law 25B. As it was teams, I think the TD would need to know the result in the other room. As I understand it, you would end up with the worse of [-3 IMPs and the result obtained by scoring up as ususual] plus a fine of the standard amount (another 3 IMPs, unless a repeat offence). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted October 22, 2013 Report Share Posted October 22, 2013 This reasoning brings backs memories of the old Law 25B. As it was teams, I think the TD would need to know the result in the other room. As I understand it, you would end up with the worse of [-3 IMPs and the result obtained by scoring up as ususual] plus a fine of the standard amount (another 3 IMPs, unless a repeat offence).And the offence was what? Using one's brain? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PhilKing Posted October 22, 2013 Report Share Posted October 22, 2013 And the offence was what? Using one's brain? The penalty is for "fielding" a psyche - not for working out partner has psyched and taking appropriate evasive action. Even in England you are allowed to use your brain! (Though it is rare.) 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CamHenry Posted October 22, 2013 Report Share Posted October 22, 2013 In response to the original question, my immediate reaction was "I'm doubling; I can compete in ♠ later if partner can't double them". This caters for: - oppo having lost a wheel - partner having made a light bid and having spades with no values - partner trying to talk oppo out of spades and actually having heart support; he can reveal the psych later and therefore clear up the situation (e.g. ... 2N-X-XX-3♥) On the other hand, my class of player is NOT the class of player who stays in such events as far as the final, so I may not be a peer of the player in question :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mr1303 Posted October 22, 2013 Author Report Share Posted October 22, 2013 As it was, partner has psyched, and bid 1S on a 2344 3 count or similar (I don't have the full hand records). The player holding this hand passed, and the auction ended after 2NT. How would you rule on the pass of 2NT? EBU land, so traffic lights in operation. Would it make a difference if you're called to the same pair 5 minutes later to record another psyche? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mycroft Posted October 22, 2013 Report Share Posted October 22, 2013 The penalty is for "fielding" a psyche - not for working out partner has psyched and taking appropriate evasive action. Even in England you are allowed to use your brain! (Though it is rare.)Ah, two countries separated by a common language again. In NA, "fielding" a psychic means doing something you wouldn't do normally because you feel partner psyched. How one feels that is irrelevant. (It also means systemic catches to calls that are systemically allowed, but would be illegal under the appropriate chart if people didn't claim they were psychics, but that's irrelevant to the conversation). In UK, "fielding" a psychic means making a call that implies or shows uses of information not available to the opponents - implying or showing use of a CPU (in NA, that would be "illegally fielding"). If partner exposes the psychic to the kibitzer that just plays poker, and you allow for it, it's not fielding (although it would be in NA). So it seems you are violently agreeing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahydra Posted October 22, 2013 Report Share Posted October 22, 2013 As it was, partner has psyched, and bid 1S on a 2344 3 count or similar (I don't have the full hand records). The player holding this hand passed, and the auction ended after 2NT. How would you rule on the pass of 2NT? EBU land, so traffic lights in operation. Would it make a difference if you're called to the same pair 5 minutes later to record another psyche? Well you've seen the poll results. This is clear fielding IMO and (probably both, but certainly this) psyche(s) should be classified as Red. ahydra Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.