Jump to content

Brighton 19 (EBU)


VixTD

Recommended Posts

Swiss Teams:

[hv=pc=n&s=skt832hqt97daq95c&w=s54haj83dk8ck8764&n=saqj6hk54dt72caj2&e=s97h62dj643cqt953]399|300[/hv]

South was playing in 6 and had already lost two tricks (A and a diamond finesse) in the position below:

 

...............J - 72 J2

 

- 8 8 K86...............- - J6Q95

 

...............K108 - A9 -

 

With the lead in hand he faced his cards without statement. When asked later he said his intention had been to cross to the J and finesse 9.

 

Do you award the defence any more tricks?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

With the lead in hand he faced his cards without statement. When asked later he said his intention had been to cross to the J and finesse 9.

And what did he say when asked why he thought that facing his cards without a statement indicated this intention?

 

1 more trick to the defence seems an easy ruling, here.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

At first I thought this was totally ridiculous. But then I looked at the diamonds, and it appears that he lost to the king by running the ten. He probably thought that this proved that the jack is in the slot, and I guess he thought this was obvious to everyone.

 

However, there's a well known defensive coup where you win a finesse with an unnecessarily high card, to trick declarer into repeating the finesse instead of switching to another strategy that you can see will succeed. The Law on claims only says that you can claim on a finesse only when the other opponent has shown out of the suit, not just because the finesse succeeded previously.

 

So the claim isn't as nonsensical as I first thought, but it's still not valid.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But then I looked at the diamonds, and it appears that he lost to the king by running the ten.

It appears me to me that he led the ten but then played the queen from hand. However, I would rule that failure to take a second diamond finesse was worse than careless, so it would be only one off. The declarer is only prevented from taking the diamond finesse if there is an alternative normal line. I don't see one. Maybe, like barmar, I should look again at the diamonds.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

At first I thought this was totally ridiculous. But then I looked at the diamonds, and it appears that he lost to the king by running the ten.

 

When did he play Q ?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It appears me to me that he led the ten but then played the queen from hand. However, I would rule that failure to take a second diamond finesse was worse than careless, so it would be only one off. The declarer is only prevented from taking the diamond finesse if there is an alternative normal line. I don't see one. Maybe, like barmar, I should look again at the diamonds.

If, from the previous play in diamonds, there is compelling reason to think the jack in onside, I could consider this reasoning. Without such information, and just looking at the end position given in the OP, dropping the jack certainly seems like an alternative normal line.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Playing for J to drop under the Ace? Playing from the top because he has forgotten the Jack is still outstanding?

Law 70E, broadly, prevents you from taking a finesse unless failure to do so would be irrational. It does not prevent you from taking a finesse. The TD has to decide what is irrational for the class of player in question. If you think that he thinks the jack of diamonds has been played, then you would rule as you do. I do not think playing for a doubleton jack is rational, however, even for a beginner. Or you would rule that with AQ doubleton opposite xx in a side suit, a declarer, who had miscounted his tricks, could start with the ace first.

 

If declarer's only sensible line is a finesse, he is allowed to take it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But why did he claim without statement? Surely such a claim tends to imply certainty over the number of tricks he will take, rather than implying he will take a finesse and concede a trick if itis wrong.

 

It seems to me more likely that he has forgotten the J is out, and on seeing resistance to his claim, then remembered it. Taking the finesse which is the only sensible line if you have remembered the J is still out, but if you have forgotten you will just play the diamonds from the top. This isn't like other "forget" situations where people in practice aren't going to lose a trick to a forgotten card because they routinely draw lurkers and cash good suits from the top. I have often made the error of taking a finesse and then forgotten that the card I finessed against is still out. This situation is not exactly that, but it is similar.

 

So I think it is plausible to suppose that this declarer forgot the J and was just going to play the diamonds from the top.

  • Upvote 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

But why did he claim without statement? Surely such a claim tends to imply certainty over the number of tricks he will take, rather than implying he will take a finesse and concede a trick if itis wrong.

 

It seems to me more likely that he has forgotten the J is out, and on seeing resistance to his claim, then remembered it. Taking the finesse which is the only sensible line if you have remembered the J is still out, but if you have forgotten you will just play the diamonds from the top. This isn't like other "forget" situations where people in practice aren't going to lose a trick to a forgotten card because they routinely draw lurkers and cash good suits from the top. I have often made the error of taking a finesse and then forgotten that the card I finessed against is still out. This situation is not exactly that, but it is similar.

 

So I think it is plausible to suppose that this declarer forgot the J and was just going to play the diamonds from the top.

 

Precisely!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Apologies if this is rubbish, but if we assume declarer has forgotten about the J of diamonds, don't we rule 3 more tricks to the defence? After all, surely declarer could play A of diamonds, 9 of diamonds (losing to the jack) then the defence has 3 tricks to cash?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Apologies if this is rubbish, but if we assume declarer has forgotten about the J of diamonds, don't we rule 3 more tricks to the defence? After all, surely declarer could play A of diamonds, 9 of diamonds (losing to the jack) then the defence has 3 tricks to cash?

No. Contract is , not NT.

 

And more about the claim. Besides the direct considerations, I think in situations like this we need be careful not to give declarer a "two-way claim." South spreads his hand, saying nothing, and waits to see which defender objects. He then chooses whether to say "taking the finesse" or "playing from the top obviously," according to which defender seems to hold the jack (they might even show him). This will work at least sometimes, unless we always rule against declarer about a card in the slightest doubt.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

And apologies from me if this is also rubbish, but I don't think the stated end position can be reached without irregularity. I was going to put it down to less relevant cards being transcribed wrongly, but on second thoughts it does seem somewhat unlikely that a materially similar end position would arise with the lead in hand. Perhaps there are murkier aspects to this ruling than I thought!
  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I nearly forgot to give the ruling on this one: It was ruled two down. Although I had a lot of sympathy for Lamford's view that cashing the ace is not a normal play, I suppose it is if the jack has been forgotten. (I was pretty sure it hadn't.) All the other directors I consulted thought it was clear to rule two down.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...