VixTD Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 This was from the Seniors Pairs. I wasn't the TD called to the table. [hv=pc=n&s=sjt7ha73dq9cat874&w=s2hkjt8dakj54c962&n=sakq83hq952dckj53&e=s9654h64dt87632cq&d=s&v=e&b=3&a=p1dd4dppp]399|300[/hv]Both pairs play natural systems (Acol), so 1♦ showed at least four. Before his second pass, South asked about the 4♦ bid and was told it was "a normal raise". An implication of this (understood by all players) was that the meaning was not affected by the double. Result: 4♦(W)-1, NS+100. NS called the director when the dummy did not match what they understood by the explanation. I didn't get to question the players, so I'm not sure what EW's expectations are of a 4♦ bid in this situation, either with or without the intervening double. Would you consider adjusting the score if(a) this would be a normal 4♦ raise for EW with or without the double, or (b) this is a considerably weaker and more distributional hand than EW would normally have without North's double? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TylerE Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 Are the players any good? My gut instinct is to deny redress to N/S whatever I decide for E/W. Surely after getting an answer like "normal raise" if S cares he should take some action to protect himself. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahydra Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 NS called the director when the dummy did not match what they understood by the explanation. That is not a valid reason to call the TD! They can call for MI, psyche or CPU, but not simply because the hand doesn't match. So: (a) there's no MI, I don't see any reason to raise with West, so no adjustment. [This is of course assuming that "a normal raise" doesn't constitute MI in itself, which it might well do - as any fule know you shouldn't say "normal" or "natural" but spell it out] (b) it depends on what South thinks he would have done given the correct information. He may well make a responsive X and then NS get to play 4S+2. I'd like NS to give a convincing auction to 6C or 6S before I weight it into my ruling. ahydra Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 Before his second pass, South asked about the 4♦ bid and was told it was "a normal raise". An implication of this (understood by all players) was that the meaning was not affected by the double. Unaffected by the double? Come on - when is a "normal" raise in this position unaffected by an intervening double (for takeout)? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 Unaffected by the double? Come on - when is a "normal" raise in this position unaffected by an intervening double (for takeout)? Frequently, particularly if you play inverted minors, 4♦ is a weak distributional raise in both cases, you are almost never going past 3N with values. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billw55 Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 "Normal raise" is inadequate disclosure. It does not contain enough information to determine whether there has been MI. Not sure if this constitutes an infraction or not. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ggwhiz Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 I guess I would caution west to be more forthcoming in the explanation but find the question itself to be pretty weak. In my own partnership all I could tell them is 13 cards a lot of which are diamonds and more diamonds = less points. I don't know any more than that and am not obliged to tell south if I'm going to raise or not. The damage here looks to be self inflicted. What on earth did south think norths double showed? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 West opened the bidding, his partner made a takeout double, and he holds 11 HCP. How strong did South think East could be? It pretty much has to be a weak raise. Although I admit that bidding 4 at unfavorable vulnerability with that hand is pretty agressive. And congrats to West for guessing hearts right to only go down 1 (unless North led them and gave it away). Not that it matters when the opponents can make a grand and you're not even doubled. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
VixTD Posted September 16, 2013 Author Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 That is not a valid reason to call the TD! They can call for MI, psyche or CPU, but not simply because the hand doesn't match.That sounds to me like a very good reason to call the TD. If the hand doesn't match the description there's a fair possibility that a misexplanation has been given, or that an opponent has misbid / psyched and partner has possibly fielded it. How is the director supposed to investigate this if he isn't called? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
VixTD Posted September 16, 2013 Author Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 Frequently, particularly if you play inverted minors, 4♦ is a weak distributional raise in both cases, you are almost never going past 3N with values.I agree - I can't see that the double changes the meaning of the bid. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
VixTD Posted September 16, 2013 Author Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 (b) it depends on what South thinks he would have done given the correct information. He may well make a responsive X and then NS get to play 4S+2. I'd like NS to give a convincing auction to 6C or 6S before I weight it into my ruling.I'm not sure what case NS made for how they were damaged. I don't think many partnerships would play responsive doubles at this level, and South has an awkward choice of call. I think North felt that he was inhibited from taking further action (a second double, presumably) after South's questions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 Even if they don't play responsive doubles at this level, South should double to show values (if they play this as pure penalty, requiring a trump stack, that's their own problem). NS probably won't find their ♣ slam, but they should at least be in 4♠. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 [hv=pc=n&s=sjt7ha73dq9cat874&w=s2hkjt8dakj54c962&n=sakq83hq952dckj53&e=s9654h64dt87632cq&d=s&v=e&b=3&a=p1dd4dppp]399|300| This was from the Seniors Pairs. I wasn't the TD called to the table. Both pairs play natural systems (Acol), so 1♦ showed at least four. Before his second pass, South asked about the 4♦ bid and was told it was "a normal raise". An implication of this (understood by all players) was that the meaning was not affected by the double. Result: 4♦(W)-1, NS+100. NS called the director when the dummy did not match what they understood by the explanation. I didn't get to question the players, so I'm not sure what EW's expectations are of a 4♦ bid in this situation, either with or without the intervening double. Would you consider adjusting the score if (a) this would be a normal 4♦ raise for EW with or without the double, or (b) this is a considerably weaker and more distributional hand than EW would normally have without North's double? [/hv] (a) Some are happy to interpret "Normal" using arcane "Bridge knowledge" but to ordinary players it seems like prevarication and obfuscation.(b) If EW conceal their understandings, what they really are doesn't seem to matter so much. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 (a) Some are happy to interpret "Normal" using arcane "Bridge knowledge" but to ordinary players it seems like prevarication and obfuscation.(b) If EW conceal their understandings, what they really are doesn't seem to matter so much.This comes up frequently. You're required to explain your special partnership understandings, you're not required to teach the opponents how to bid. If you don't think there's anything special about the way you interpret 4♦ in this sequence, are you really required to go into extensive detail? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 The description 'normal' shouldn't be used.But South was pretty silly not to ask what 'normal' means. I think the normal meaning is pre-emptive, with or without the double, but obviously that's not what South thought it meant.Here's a question: how to N/S play 1D P 4D? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 Unaffected by the double? Come on - when is a "normal" raise in this position unaffected by an intervening double (for takeout)? ummm.... on this auction?1any pass/double 4any are played much the same way by many pairs Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 This comes up frequently. You're required to explain your special partnership understandings, you're not required to teach the opponents how to bid. If you don't think there's anything special about the way you interpret 4♦ in this sequence, are you really required to go into extensive detail? This argument will run and run. And nobody seems to change their mind. Barmar and others judge that "Normal" is an adequate explanation. But we're often surprised about what is locally acceptable as "Normal" or "Just Bridge" (at the table and here on BBO). I think the rules should mandate that you explicitly provide some idea of probable shape and strength -- even if that would take longer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mycroft Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 I don't have to teach the opponents how to bid. But I *do* have to explain to the opponents what we've decided this bid means. For example: My 1♠-3♠ preemptive raise could be 9 high. If I explain that as "spades, preemptive" is that sufficient? Is it "teaching the opponents to bid" that 15+9 != game? Similarly with 1♠-4♠. Okay, you say "well, you play Precision, and they don't know that." But what makes your "2010-era 2/1" special to the pair from HK who's never played anything but Precision? Why does the Precision pair have to explain that 26 points is game and you don't? I had one "don't have to teach them how to play bridge" moment years ago. The question was "how much for a game forcing response in your methods?" The question really was "how light do you cater for partner opening?" which is a *very valid question*. Similarly, I think many would take it amiss if I were to explain 2♠(EHAA)-3♠ as "invitational, 3+ spades" with no further comment. Definitely, I'd bet a bunch of TD calls when dummy came down with "not what [the opponents] expected from the explanation", even if it's entirely consistent from a "know how to play bridge" point of view - *if* you have sufficient grounding in what is an EHAA 2-opener. We do - we can't guarantee the opponents do - so further explanation is expected. Avoiding "weird systems", and getting back to "bog-standard 2/1", assuming people think "well, if you don't play normal, you have to be careful" - I now have an inventory of which players in my area play 1M-4M "the right way", which play it the Precision way (not playing a limited 1M opener), and which play it as "enough for game on power, bid 4NT if you have extras". I'm sure *all* of them would describe their raise as "normal", and have their snide thoughts about "why should I have to teach the opponents how to play bridge?" And they would all be wrong... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TylerE Posted September 17, 2013 Report Share Posted September 17, 2013 This comes up frequently. You're required to explain your special partnership understandings, you're not required to teach the opponents how to bid. If you don't think there's anything special about the way you interpret 4♦ in this sequence, are you really required to go into extensive detail? How is there NOT something special about this sequence by definition? What system defines minor suit raises beyond 3N? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1eyedjack Posted September 17, 2013 Report Share Posted September 17, 2013 I think that the construction of the description was calculated to deceive and E/W should be spanked for it. Adjust, and maybe they will learn Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted September 17, 2013 Report Share Posted September 17, 2013 ummm.... on this auction?1any pass/double 4any are played much the same way by many pairs And I have some impression that a player who would just (limit) raise his partner's opening bid in a suit "normally" (or often?) would raise an additional level for the preemptive effect after an initervening doouble? (e.g. 1♦ - pass - 3♦ >>> 1♦ - Double - 4♦) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted September 17, 2013 Report Share Posted September 17, 2013 If the 4♦ is consistent with EWs agreements then I would give a split score. Result stands for NS but some weighted score for EW. Maybe a PP to EW if I am an a bad mood. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lamford Posted September 17, 2013 Report Share Posted September 17, 2013 And congrats to West for guessing hearts right to only go down 1 (unless North led them and gave it away). Not that it matters when the opponents can make a grand and you're not even doubled.Given that West is cold for 4♦ on any lead, congratulations for going only 1 down seem overly generous. Also North's failure to act in the pass-out seat was a SeWoG. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted September 17, 2013 Report Share Posted September 17, 2013 North's failure to act in the pass-out seat was a SeWoG. (I was told) North thought Pass was a logical alternative and that action was suggested by South's question.If North was informed that 4♦ was what East had, then North said Pass would not be a logical alternative but Double was suggested over 4♠, so he would have bid 4♠. This was interesting because Double might lead to 4♥ (S) which does not score as well as 4♠ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted September 17, 2013 Report Share Posted September 17, 2013 North's failure to act in the pass-out seat was a SeWoG.He might have felt ethically constrained after his partner's query. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.