1eyedjack Posted September 15, 2013 Report Share Posted September 15, 2013 Sorry, bit lazy asking this. Answer prob out there for the searching.I have been out of F2F bridge for some years, but may rejoin presently. I would want to be playing a transfer Walsh style along the lines of Liggins/Crouch/Fawcett et al. This involves potentially opening 1C with longer D by design (in the extreme could have 5D).Reading another thread in these Laws forums I gather that this practice (opening shorter minor) might limit the events that I could play in. Something about changing it from a ’green’ system to ’red’. What’s that all about and should I be worried? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paulg Posted September 15, 2013 Report Share Posted September 15, 2013 Sorry, bit lazy asking this. Answer prob out there for the searching.I have been out of F2F bridge for some years, but may rejoin presently. I would want to be playing a transfer Walsh style along the lines of Liggins/Crouch/Fawcett et al. This involves potentially opening 1C with longer D by design (in the extreme could have 5D).Reading another thread in these Laws forums I gather that this practice (opening shorter minor) might limit the events that I could play in. Something about changing it from a 'green' system to 'red'. What's that all about and should I be worried?Green and red are WBF system classifications that are used in Scotland but not in England. You will need to read the excellent Blue Book, but almost all EBU tournaments are run at Level 4 and playing a short club is fine. The EBU does not regulate responses to an opening bid. I would expect the same to be true at clubs and county events except for novice competitions. All this presumes that your other opening bids are not too exotic. (Your system would be classified red in Scotland but would not prevent you playing it in a competition). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted September 15, 2013 Report Share Posted September 15, 2013 Reading another thread in these Laws forums I gather that this practice (opening shorter minor) might limit the events that I could play in. Something about changing it from a ’green’ system to ’red’. What’s that all about and should I be worried? Not in England.1C = natural or balanced is fine is virtually any event (including if you like all 5332s in the 1C opening, not just those with long diamonds).Any responses are permitted. You can play virtually anything by way of 1-level openings as long as- they all show 'normal', possibly light, opening bids ('rule of 18' or 11+ HCP except in 3rd seat)- 1H and 1S show 4+ cards- 1C and 1D are both any subset of {natural, 16+ any, balanced potentially including any 5422 or 5332s, balanced or unbalanced with the other minor} (when I say 'virtually anything' this is a not entirely accurate summary of the current rules, but it's a good approximation) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelandakh Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 - 1C and 1D are both any subset of {natural, 16+ any, balanced potentially including any 5422 or 5332s, balanced or unbalanced with the other minor} Does this include 15+ balanced, or 15+ natural, or 18+ any (or an Acol 2 of any suit), Frances? (ie taking parts from different sections in the list) 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted September 16, 2013 Report Share Posted September 16, 2013 Does this include 15+ balanced, or 15+ natural, or 18+ any (or an Acol 2 of any suit), Frances? (ie taking parts from different sections in the list) Yes, as long as "15+ natural" does not include canape with a longer major. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CamHenry Posted September 18, 2013 Report Share Posted September 18, 2013 Yes, as long as "15+ natural" does not include canape with a longer major. An important note here: the no "canape with a longer major" applies whichever minor you have - so if you play 1♣ strong, 1♦ nebulous, then your 1♦ opening cannot include 4♣ 5+major. You can open 6♣5♠ 1♦, though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted September 18, 2013 Report Share Posted September 18, 2013 Yes, as long as "15+ natural" does not include canape with a longer major.Isn't this now encompassed by BB 7B1(iii)? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted September 18, 2013 Report Share Posted September 18, 2013 Isn't this now encompassed by BB 7B1(iii)?But you can't combine (iii) with (ii), whereas you can combine (i)+(ii). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.