Jump to content

Psyching and enjoyment


Recommended Posts

There is no possible explanation to pulling 4x other than it was a psyche. That is not fielding.

I'm reminded of a hand once when I opened a Precision 2 (c10-15 HCPs, 6+ or 5 + 4M). This was passed round to my RHO who doubled for take-out, which was passed back to my partner. He bid 2, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2, which RHO doubled....

 

With something like a 1435 shape, I was pretty happy when partner rescued to 2. I was even happier when he took this out to 2. What should I do now when 2 is doubled???

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm reminded of a hand once when I opened a Precision 2 (c10-15 HCPs, 6+ or 5 + 4M). This was passed round to my RHO who doubled for take-out, which was passed back to my partner. He bid 2, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2, which RHO doubled....

 

With something like a 1435 shape, I was pretty happy when partner rescued to 2. I was even happier when he took this out to 2. What should I do now when 2 is doubled???

Let partner finish being cute. Your passes of 2DX and then 2HX already said you tolerated diamonds and were delighted with hearts. If you pass 2SX and pard ends up with a 9-bagger there, you fielded via common sense.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm reminded of a hand once when I opened a Precision 2 (c10-15 HCPs, 6+ or 5 + 4M). This was passed round to my RHO who doubled for take-out, which was passed back to my partner. He bid 2, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2, which RHO doubled....

 

With something like a 1435 shape, I was pretty happy when partner rescued to 2. I was even happier when he took this out to 2. What should I do now when 2 is doubled???

Partner is having fun. But he is entirely on his own. Your contribution was your opening bid. You should not bid again.

 

I would not be surprised if partner had KQJTxxxx of spades, or lots of clubs and his next call would be 3 (or possibly 2NT, intending to get doubled there as well).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm reminded of a hand once when I opened a Precision 2 (c10-15 HCPs, 6+ or 5 + 4M). This was passed round to my RHO who doubled for take-out, which was passed back to my partner. He bid 2, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2, which RHO doubled....

 

With something like a 1435 shape, I was pretty happy when partner rescued to 2. I was even happier when he took this out to 2. What should I do now when 2 is doubled???

 

Partner is bidding for the cycle and getting in his way would be like pulling a pitcher in the 9th inning with a no-hitter going because of his pitch (bid) count. That's a firing offence as a partner.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Let partner finish being cute. Your passes of 2DX and then 2HX already said you tolerated diamonds and were delighted with hearts. If you pass 2SX and pard ends up with a 9-bagger there, you fielded via common sense.

Alas, partner did not have a 9-bagger. He was something like 4450 and apparently hoped to judge the right spot from the eagerness with which opponents doubled. My approach was that endorsed by everyone responding, but 2Sx was not a success! Partner tried to clinch the argument by saying that it was pointless hoping he had psyched with a long spade suit since in that case I would be ruled against for fielding, anyway....

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Alas, partner did not have a 9-bagger. He was something like 4450 and apparently hoped to judge the right spot from the eagerness with which opponents doubled. My approach was that endorsed by everyone responding, but 2Sx was not a success! Partner tried to clinch the argument by saying that it was pointless hoping he had psyched with a long spade suit since in that case I would be ruled against for fielding, anyway....

And what did he say when you suggested starting with redouble?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

And what did he say when you suggested starting with redouble?

He said he was worried I might misunderstand and leave it in! An extraordinary worry, I thought, since it was 100% clear we would play it as a rescue. But the previous hand, against the same opponents, we had scored 1Nxx+2 or something, and I suppose he wondered if I would think he was trying to repeat our success. Anyway, more or less an average round....

Link to comment
Share on other sites

He said he was worried I might misunderstand and leave it in! An extraordinary worry, I thought, since it was 100% clear we would play it as a rescue. But the previous hand, against the same opponents, we had scored 1Nxx+2 or something, and I suppose he wondered if I would think he was trying to repeat our success. Anyway, more or less an average round....

 

 

This very much reminds me of a story on poorbridge.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Alas, partner did not have a 9-bagger. He was something like 4450 and apparently hoped to judge the right spot from the eagerness with which opponents doubled. My approach was that endorsed by everyone responding, but 2Sx was not a success! Partner tried to clinch the argument by saying that it was pointless hoping he had psyched with a long spade suit since in that case I would be ruled against for fielding, anyway....

And what did he say when you suggested starting with redouble?

Exactly. WellSpyder judged that partner knew what he was doing; WellSpyder misjudged :rolleyes:

 

His partner misjudged what the ruling should be when we "field" because we assume partner knows what he is doing.

"Fielding" in this case would be removing 2Sx because we somehow guessed partner forgot to Rdbl 2CX.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...