WellSpyder Posted July 8, 2013 Report Share Posted July 8, 2013 There is no possible explanation to pulling 4♥x other than it was a psyche. That is not fielding.I'm reminded of a hand once when I opened a Precision 2♣ (c10-15 HCPs, 6+♣ or 5♣ + 4M). This was passed round to my RHO who doubled for take-out, which was passed back to my partner. He bid 2♦, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2♥, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2♠, which RHO doubled.... With something like a 1435 shape, I was pretty happy when partner rescued to 2♦. I was even happier when he took this out to 2♥. What should I do now when 2♠ is doubled??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted July 8, 2013 Report Share Posted July 8, 2013 I'm reminded of a hand once when I opened a Precision 2♣ (c10-15 HCPs, 6+♣ or 5♣ + 4M). This was passed round to my RHO who doubled for take-out, which was passed back to my partner. He bid 2♦, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2♥, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2♠, which RHO doubled.... With something like a 1435 shape, I was pretty happy when partner rescued to 2♦. I was even happier when he took this out to 2♥. What should I do now when 2♠ is doubled???Let partner finish being cute. Your passes of 2DX and then 2HX already said you tolerated diamonds and were delighted with hearts. If you pass 2SX and pard ends up with a 9-bagger there, you fielded via common sense. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ArtK78 Posted July 8, 2013 Report Share Posted July 8, 2013 I'm reminded of a hand once when I opened a Precision 2♣ (c10-15 HCPs, 6+♣ or 5♣ + 4M). This was passed round to my RHO who doubled for take-out, which was passed back to my partner. He bid 2♦, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2♥, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2♠, which RHO doubled.... With something like a 1435 shape, I was pretty happy when partner rescued to 2♦. I was even happier when he took this out to 2♥. What should I do now when 2♠ is doubled???Partner is having fun. But he is entirely on his own. Your contribution was your opening bid. You should not bid again. I would not be surprised if partner had KQJTxxxx of spades, or lots of clubs and his next call would be 3♣ (or possibly 2NT, intending to get doubled there as well). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ggwhiz Posted July 8, 2013 Report Share Posted July 8, 2013 I'm reminded of a hand once when I opened a Precision 2♣ (c10-15 HCPs, 6+♣ or 5♣ + 4M). This was passed round to my RHO who doubled for take-out, which was passed back to my partner. He bid 2♦, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2♥, which RHO doubled. Partner bid 2♠, which RHO doubled.... With something like a 1435 shape, I was pretty happy when partner rescued to 2♦. I was even happier when he took this out to 2♥. What should I do now when 2♠ is doubled??? Partner is bidding for the cycle and getting in his way would be like pulling a pitcher in the 9th inning with a no-hitter going because of his pitch (bid) count. That's a firing offence as a partner. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted July 8, 2013 Report Share Posted July 8, 2013 if partner wanted your input, he would have redoubled for SOS the first time. Once he starts pulling, your fate is in his hand. Pray that he knows what he's doing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellSpyder Posted July 9, 2013 Report Share Posted July 9, 2013 Let partner finish being cute. Your passes of 2DX and then 2HX already said you tolerated diamonds and were delighted with hearts. If you pass 2SX and pard ends up with a 9-bagger there, you fielded via common sense.Alas, partner did not have a 9-bagger. He was something like 4450 and apparently hoped to judge the right spot from the eagerness with which opponents doubled. My approach was that endorsed by everyone responding, but 2Sx was not a success! Partner tried to clinch the argument by saying that it was pointless hoping he had psyched with a long spade suit since in that case I would be ruled against for fielding, anyway.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billw55 Posted July 9, 2013 Report Share Posted July 9, 2013 Alas, partner did not have a 9-bagger. He was something like 4450 and apparently hoped to judge the right spot from the eagerness with which opponents doubled. My approach was that endorsed by everyone responding, but 2Sx was not a success! Partner tried to clinch the argument by saying that it was pointless hoping he had psyched with a long spade suit since in that case I would be ruled against for fielding, anyway....And what did he say when you suggested starting with redouble? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellSpyder Posted July 9, 2013 Report Share Posted July 9, 2013 And what did he say when you suggested starting with redouble?He said he was worried I might misunderstand and leave it in! An extraordinary worry, I thought, since it was 100% clear we would play it as a rescue. But the previous hand, against the same opponents, we had scored 1Nxx+2 or something, and I suppose he wondered if I would think he was trying to repeat our success. Anyway, more or less an average round.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CSGibson Posted July 9, 2013 Report Share Posted July 9, 2013 He said he was worried I might misunderstand and leave it in! An extraordinary worry, I thought, since it was 100% clear we would play it as a rescue. But the previous hand, against the same opponents, we had scored 1Nxx+2 or something, and I suppose he wondered if I would think he was trying to repeat our success. Anyway, more or less an average round.... This very much reminds me of a story on poorbridge.com Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted July 9, 2013 Report Share Posted July 9, 2013 Alas, partner did not have a 9-bagger. He was something like 4450 and apparently hoped to judge the right spot from the eagerness with which opponents doubled. My approach was that endorsed by everyone responding, but 2Sx was not a success! Partner tried to clinch the argument by saying that it was pointless hoping he had psyched with a long spade suit since in that case I would be ruled against for fielding, anyway....And what did he say when you suggested starting with redouble?Exactly. WellSpyder judged that partner knew what he was doing; WellSpyder misjudged :rolleyes: His partner misjudged what the ruling should be when we "field" because we assume partner knows what he is doing."Fielding" in this case would be removing 2Sx because we somehow guessed partner forgot to Rdbl 2CX. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.