Jump to content

Fielding Error


lamford

Recommended Posts

[hv=pc=n&s=s974hakq3dt2cq432&w=s65ht876dkq876ca6&n=sajt83h94dj943c85&e=skq2hj52da5ckjt97&d=s&v=e&b=3&a=pp1s1n2s3nppp]399|300[/hv]

This was a genuine hand from the Garden Cities Qualifier last night (board 19 in the top link at http://www.metrobridge.co.uk/), not at my table. I was suprised by the ruling. Against 3NT, South cashed a top heart, and switched to a spade, ducked by North. East won and played a club to the ace, and finessed the jack of clubs. The defence won and cashed out for one off. The contract will always fail on accurate defence. The declarer thought South had fielded the psyche and he asked the director for a ruling, and the TD asked South why she bid Two Spades. South, an English International, stated "it took up more room than double" and the director ruled that even if South doubled, EW would reach 3NT anyway and go off, as North would pull to 2D, and South would correct to 2S. East-West did not want to appeal (their team could not qualify) and the TD's ruling of no adjustment was accepted, but I thought it should have been ruled as a fielded red psyche.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I am inclined to agree with fielded psyche. South's bid and explanation both seem dubious for an international level player.

 

Don't really agree with ruling of no damage either, EW might stop below game if warned by the double, or maybe defend for a plus (cashing the minor suit winners doesn't seem excessively difficult).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have a lot of sympathy for south here. The 1NT bid announces that NS have at mount no extras for game, and every finnesse rates to be off. AKQx in a side suit isn't really the most inspiring holding, especially in a 4333 hand with bad trump.

 

But it is rather good for defending notrump...

 

I agree with billw55 that it's viable for the auction to stop below game if south doubles, e.g. 1S-1NT-X-XX (if natural); 2D-p-2S-X (T/O); p-3C-out. Perhaps instead of a psyche, this is a CPU (where in 3rd NS can open on 6-counts) and the agreement itself is illegal as well? Either way, I don't think the TD got this one right.

 

ahydra

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But it is rather good for defending notrump...

 

Sure. Using judgement wasn't illegal the last time I checked. Giving the opponents the chance to hang themselves is perfectly fine.

 

I'm curious about the EW methods. Either E or W are upgrading pretty seriously on this hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sure. Using judgement wasn't illegal the last time I checked. Giving the opponents the chance to hang themselves is perfectly fine.

 

I'm curious about the EW methods. Either E or W are upgrading pretty seriously on this hand.

East I would say.

 

By the way, south does not have the 4333 shape you mentioned.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The 1NT bid announces that NS have at mount no extras for game, and every finnesse rates to be off. AKQx in a side suit isn't really the most inspiring holding, especially in a 4333 hand with bad trump.

All the more reason to look for +500 from 1NT doubled.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I made the same mistake when I first looked at the diagram. I blame the fact that ten is shown as "10", since it makes it look like 3 cards in the diamond suit.

 

I've complained about that to Fred on multiple occasions. Drives me bonkers. Maybe you can slip a word in the right ear, since you have some pull around here?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

For the purpose of my questions, let's assume that South fielded something.

 

1) Isn't your color scheme over there geared to psyches, but extended to misbids?

2) Didn't all jurisdictions relax their natural opening bid regulations for 3rd-seat favorable?

3) Aren't rulings based on coincidence unlawful, unless there is other evidence of UI or CPU?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is routine under EBU rules.

Whatever the level of the game, it is unacceptable for a player, hearing his partner open third-in-hand at the one-level, and hearing a natural strong 1NT from RHO, to do otherwise than double with 11 HCP.

EBU regs also say that you adjust the score to ave+/ave- (unless NOS have done better than that), then give an additional PP to the psyching side (which should be in the final form of scoring, perhaps VPs). So whether the TD thinks there was damage is irrelevant.

  • Upvote 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm not sure I agree with the director's opinion that EW would have reached 3NT anyway. South's double should warn West that his partner probably has a minimum for his 1NT (in fact, he's below minimum if their agreement is 15-18) and that finessing through opener is not likely to work as well as usually expected. And if North pulls the double to 2, that reduces the value of West's 5-card suit.

 

So he might just invite rather than force to game, and East surely will decline.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Was it established that North's opening was a psyche?

If it wasn't a psyche, presumably it was both an illegal agreement (fewer than 8 points) and a CPU. Paul would have told us if 1 had been alerted, and an agreement to play an illegal method certainly passes the test "has a potentially unexpected meaning".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Does the combination of a CPU and an illegal agreement have a higher price than a red psyche?

 

A quick flick through the WB suggests it's the same - 60/30 plus a PP.

 

That WB40.6 regulation is a bit weird. I once heard my LHO bid a natural 2y after a standard (1x)-1NT auction on a good ten-count; I misjudged the subsequent auction because I was expecting her to double with such values, but if that's their partnership's methods then I can hardly blame LHO for making that bid. Or perhaps more simply, what if double isn't penalty for one pair? I don't really think the WB is in a position to make an explicit statement like "you must double holding 11 HCP after p-p-1x-1NT". One mustn't field a possible psyche, but the rest is down to system/style.

 

ahydra

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A quick flick through the WB suggests it's the same - 60/30 plus a PP.

That WB40.6 regulation is a bit weird. I once heard my LHO bid a natural 2y after a standard (1x)-1NT auction on a good ten-count; I misjudged the subsequent auction because I was expecting her to double with such values, but if that's their partnership's methods then I can hardly blame LHO for making that bid. Or perhaps more simply, what if double isn't penalty for one pair? I don't really think the WB is in a position to make an explicit statement like "you must double holding 11 HCP after p-p-1x-1NT". One mustn't field a possible psyche, but the rest is down to system/style.ahydra

If double by South is non-penalty and 2 is the system bid on an 11 HCP hand, then North should alert it.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...