lalldonn Posted March 2, 2013 Report Share Posted March 2, 2013 That kind of thing happens from time to time. It's hard not to reply sarcastically. My opponents have called the director on me for doubling 1♦ with a 3415 11 count (not a singleton diamond honor). A double promises 12+ points. My friend had the opponents call the director on him for bidding 1♠ p 2♠ with AKxx Jxx Jxx Jxx. But you having the director take their side is pretty amazing lol. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PhilKing Posted March 2, 2013 Report Share Posted March 2, 2013 My friend had the opponents call the director on him for bidding 1♠ p 2♠ with AKxx Jxx Jxx Jxx. He had TEN POINTS!!! Did he explain that he had miscounted? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelandakh Posted March 5, 2013 Report Share Posted March 5, 2013 I assume it wouldn't be a problem if you hold ♥765432...You are quite right, the problem was the lack of a 6 card suit. More than this, he said that he was only not adjusting because it was third seat; in any other position we would have been ruled against. Incidentally, the TD involved is no moron. He is a member of the (German) Master Solver's Club and has played internationally. Unfortunately it is not the only "club" ruling he gave me and I do not play in this club any more. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Codo Posted March 5, 2013 Report Share Posted March 5, 2013 Several years ago we had quite harsh rules for weak twos in the German club tournements. If this incident happened about ten years ago or so, he may even had been right. :) But as far as I remember, 765432 had been forbidden too. Luckily these days are gone.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellSpyder Posted March 5, 2013 Report Share Posted March 5, 2013 You are quite right, the problem was the lack of a 6 card suit. More than this, he said that he was only not adjusting because it was third seat; in any other position we would have been ruled against. Incidentally, the TD involved is no moron. He is a member of the (German) Master Solver's Club and has played internationally. Unfortunately it is not the only "club" ruling he gave me and I do not play in this club any more.Seems to me it is the word "ruling" that should be in quotes in your last sentence, not "club". What exactly did he mean by rule against, I wonder...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts