pigpenz Posted January 11, 2013 Report Share Posted January 11, 2013 [hv=d=w&v=0&b=8&a=1np4cp4hp6dppp]133|100|4clubs alerted as transfer[/hv]at a recent section in Northern California this auction occurredWest alerted his partners bid as transfer,East now bid 6♦.at end of auction since I was on lead called TD and said there may be aUI on the hand.....The TD looked at east hand and said he is allowed tobid his hand. It was the last hand of a two session event. than night started thinking about it, if there were no alert East was biddinga slam that was off 3 aces since his bid was meant as Gerber. Broght it to TDs attentionon morning of swiss,he moved board to 4NT making 6. Asked him why he didnt do anything at time he said he just assumed they were going to have anaccident on the hand!!!! :blink: We were the number one seed are way, I wonder how many times things like this happen to pairsthat really arent aware of the laws??? so like the previous topic "ethical Violation"when talking to the TD I said he need to address it with the offending sideto at least make it a learning process for them as they were both life masters with about800 points, which doenst necessarily mean much anymore but does show some experience Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
campboy Posted January 11, 2013 Report Share Posted January 11, 2013 It sounds like it needs to be a learning process for the TD as well. It's a complete no-no to make any comment about what's in the player's hand at that point. He shouldn't even look. And if he was assuming they were going to have an accident, why not come back at the end to check? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted January 11, 2013 Report Share Posted January 11, 2013 Probably because he expected the players to call him back. Or else he forgot about it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted January 11, 2013 Report Share Posted January 11, 2013 I wonder. In this pair's system, is 1NT-4♣ (transfer)-4♥-4NT some form of BW? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mamos Posted January 12, 2013 Report Share Posted January 12, 2013 OP says "alerted as transfer" - what does this mean? Did someone ask? Mike Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pigpenz Posted January 12, 2013 Author Report Share Posted January 12, 2013 OP says "alerted as transfer" - what does this mean? Did someone ask? Mikeop alerted when not asked so the cat was out of the bagthe 4♣ bidder meant it as Gerber, The 4 ♣ biddernow knowing his partner didnt respond with the aces he had took a flierat 6♦.....if there had bid no alert he would have been bidding a slam off 3 Aces. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted January 12, 2013 Report Share Posted January 12, 2013 "Alerted when not asked"? This doesn't make sense. Do you mean opener alerted 4♣ and then explained it as a transfer without anyone asking? Or did he announce "transfer"? Or was it something else? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bbradley62 Posted January 12, 2013 Report Share Posted January 12, 2013 op alerted You are OP in this thread, pigpenz. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kevperk Posted January 12, 2013 Report Share Posted January 12, 2013 You are OP in this thread, pigpenz.He meant opp - opponent Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pigpenz Posted January 12, 2013 Author Report Share Posted January 12, 2013 He meant opp - opponentOk The west opp alerted and explained without being asked tooSo his partner then knew it was not the correct number of aces Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted January 13, 2013 Report Share Posted January 13, 2013 Not necessarily. He knew that the 4♥ bid had no relationship to the number of aces held, but the bidder still might have held the correct number. As others have already said, the TD in this case did not follow correct procedure or best practice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sjoerds Posted January 22, 2013 Report Share Posted January 22, 2013 How many aces (keycards) does 4♥ give?East should bid accordingly to this information. Without the hand that is impossible to judge. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted January 27, 2013 Report Share Posted January 27, 2013 If 4♥ showed one ace, and the 6♦ hand has no more than one ace, then there is no doubt the 6♦ bidder flagrantly used UI. In such a case the TD should: not look at the hand at the table, andreturn at the end of the hand whether recalled or not, and remind the 6♦ bidder of his ethical responsibilities when in receipt of UI, andconsider a PP for the 6♦ bidder if he is a good enough player 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.