Jump to content

Common, lazy pass procedure


jillybean

Recommended Posts

I said the worst case, someone abuses the situation. I imagine people could think of many ways to abuse this, I pickup my bidding cards and then make a bid, this passes some predetermined information to my partner...

 

Bridge is very much open to this sort of abuse. There is no practical solution and assuming people will be basically honest is as good a rule of thumb as any. Attempting to secretary-bird ones way to a ridiculous redoubled contract with overtricks against innattentive opponents certainly doesn't address the problem you describe.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

This is America. I guarantee that even if the regs did say anything, it would make little difference. E.g. the regs DO have a precise procedure for use of the STOP card, but how many players actually follow it?

A few, more over time. But the interest comes when a player does not follow the regulation, something happens, and they get ruled against.

 

I might use the stop card if a sufficient number of partners/opponents/directors/whoever prompted me to do so. As it is, the actual number is exactly zero in 20+ years (on and off) of bridge. If I ever meet you guys at the table, you can be the first!

I used to use the Stop card in the ACBL, since I am used to it here. But once I realised hardly anyone does, you don't control the tempo, and it has been officially interpreted as voluntary, I stopped.

 

A pass card is solid green PASS, a redouble card is solid blue XX, what caused you not to see the XX is inattention.

I think the only reason a bid or pass is allowed to be taken back in an auction is when there has been misinformation, but not because

a player has been inattentive.

No way: Law 25A applies very much when a player has been inattentive. As the one who seems to make the highest number of wrong calls inadvertently - maybe five a session - I understand this thoroughly.

 

Unintended: Involuntary; not under control of the will;

not the intention of the player at the moment of his action.

 

Does this limit unintended bids to ones that are caused by a mechanical error rather than a slip of the mind?

 

Ie A player pulls 3H out of the bidding box , but the 3S card comes out also?

If you intend to bid 3 and 3 comes out, whether because you reached for the wrong card, the two came out together, or for any other reason, it may be changed under Law 25A.

 

This wildly overstates the situation. There is no way that there is any real competitive advantage to passing with a pass card as opposed to picking up your cards, and certainly not enough of one to actually worry about. This is a complete non-issue, but it appears by the statements in this thread...specifically the one quoted... like you are blowing it up out of proportion.

That is the main reason I have not commented on the main questions raised here: too trivial. Sure, you might get one cheat per 50,000 players who don't pass correctly: big deal. And a competent TD will investigate in the one situation where they seem to be gaining.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No way: Law 25A applies very much when a player has been inattentive. As the one who seems to make the highest number of wrong calls inadvertently - maybe five a session - I understand this thoroughly.

 

Do you use a strange procedure when you bid? I ask because I think that the average number of times a player pulls out the wrong call and L25A is invoked is fewer than five occurrences per lifetime.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I do not know why I do it, but I can assure you the average is not five a lifetime. Most Law 25A rulings are dealt with by commonsense, but in my experience there are always a couple an evening from other people.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I wonder if the frequency of 25A rulings is higher in the UK than US, because of the difference in bidding box regulations. Here, the call isn't considered made until it's on or near the table. Players sometimes pull a card from the box, and notice that it's the wrong card while it's just a few inches out of the box, so they're able to correct it with no TD involvement. Under EBU regs, I think the bid would be considered made, so you have to use 25A to correct it.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I wonder if the frequency of 25A rulings is higher in the UK than US, because of the difference in bidding box regulations. Here, the call isn't considered made until it's on or near the table.

 

I don't think there is a high incidence of Law 25A rulings (where the TD is called) despite some individuals with a high frequency of needing to change. There is (I am sure) a higher incidence of Law 25A changes of call for the reason suggested. Players take calls out of the box, find they have too few or too many, stuff them back in the box and make the intended call. Under EBU regulations, the uppermost of the pile of calls is made, and the change of call is allowed under Law 25A - the TD is rarely called for such chnages.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Of course picking up your bidding cards is commonly used to indicate a pass, I'd say it is more common than putting a pass card on the table.

 

In my experience, picking up the bidding cards is usually accompanied by some verbalization or a tap of a previous pass card. When no such accompanying indication occurs, I think it would be reasonable to believe that a player did not see a call and erroneously believed the auction was already over before she got another chance to call.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In my experience, picking up the bidding cards is usually accompanied by some verbalization or a tap of a previous pass card. When no such accompanying indication occurs, I think it would be reasonable to believe that a player did not see a call and erroneously believed the auction was already over before she got another chance to call.

 

Around here, the player in the passout seat will frequently pick up the cards with no further gesture or comment.

 

If someone who is not in the passout seat starts to mistakenly pick up their cards, they are often reminded by another player that the auction is not yet over.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...