mr1303 Posted November 11, 2012 Report Share Posted November 11, 2012 In a 3NT contract, declarer leads a club, LHO discards a diamond, dummy follows and RHO discards a heart. At this point, LHO announces he has a club and plays it, winning the trick. Does the diamond HAVE to be played at this point? Can a diamond be prohibited if declarer so desires? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted November 11, 2012 Report Share Posted November 11, 2012 Does the diamond HAVE to be played at this point? Yes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mr1303 Posted November 11, 2012 Author Report Share Posted November 11, 2012 So this can be a rabbit defence when a diamond switch (from a holding that you would be extremely unlikely to find which just happens to work)? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted November 12, 2012 Report Share Posted November 12, 2012 So this can be a rabbit defence when a diamond switch (from a holding that you would be extremely unlikely to find which just happens to work)?I don't understand this question. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted November 12, 2012 Report Share Posted November 12, 2012 Neither do I, but if there is any substance in it and the defending side gains from the situation then Law 23 is obviously applicable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanor Fow Posted November 12, 2012 Report Share Posted November 12, 2012 Given that the person who 'coudl have known' is the one who would have been on lead anyway, and so could have chosen the diamond lead anyway, I don't see why 23 should apply. If the argument is that when revoking he could have known that the penalty card he would now be forced to lead could be the one to break teh contract, i'm finding this a bit far fetched. The Rabbit defense term, I assume, refers to the character rueful rabbit from the Mollo books, a character who would accidentally (often by missorting, or dropping cards) find masterful plays, or hte only play to work, however unlikely. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
campboy Posted November 12, 2012 Report Share Posted November 12, 2012 In a 3NT contract, declarer leads a club, LHO discards a diamond, dummy follows and RHO discards a heart. At this point, LHO announces he has a club and plays it, winning the trick. Don't forget that dummy's card may now be changed (and if it is RHO's card may be changed). Does the diamond HAVE to be played at this point? Can a diamond be prohibited if declarer so desires?Yes it has to be played. If it happens to be the right card to play, that's just lucky. Law 23 doesn't come into play -- if he knows a diamond is right then the PC doesn't gain over just playing it, and if he doesn't know the diamond is right then he has no reason to think the penalty card will help. I had to rule on this exact situation at the seniors congress the weekend before last. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
iviehoff Posted November 12, 2012 Report Share Posted November 12, 2012 Citations: When the holder of a major penalty card is on lead, he must lead it: L50D1. Declarer's power to bar the lead of the suit of a major penalty card only applies when it is the partner of the penalty card holder who is on lead: L 50D2. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.