RMB1 Posted November 1, 2012 Report Share Posted November 1, 2012 I don't think it unreasonable to assume that the the TD/appeals committee/NA considered themselves bound by the(ir) regulations when they ruled against Vampyr. If we accept that the ruling is correct for the hand, and that the ruling is based on the regulations to which they were bound, it should follow that the regulations support Vampyr's statement, without the need to quote a particular sentence buried therein. I do not know any details of the ruling bneyond what was posted here but it appears to have been a UI ruling. Psycher's partner made a slow penalty double - psycher pulled - but it was ruled that psycher had a logical alternative of Pass (even though he had psyched) and score was adjusted. The fact that the double was slow because psycher's partner was wondering whether she was constrained because she suspected that partner had psyched and they were subsequently ruled against does not mean that that the EBU had regulations saying she was constrained. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted November 1, 2012 Report Share Posted November 1, 2012 I am sure that this is the policy, but not as sure about the practice. Later I will post the hand in question and see what people have to say about it. That is neither the policy nor the practice and you have absolutely zero evidence to suggest it is.I review all 'records of hands' filled in a EBU events and I have seen plenty of successful psyches and plenty of unsuccessful ones. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted November 1, 2012 Report Share Posted November 1, 2012 That is neither the policy nor the practice and you have absolutely zero evidence to suggest it is.I review all 'records of hands' filled in a EBU events and I have seen plenty of successful psyches and plenty of unsuccessful ones. I would be interested in seeing these. I suspect that a large proportion of the successful psyches are hands in which partner is not called upon to do anything. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted November 1, 2012 Report Share Posted November 1, 2012 Yes, I imagine so. how does that affect anything? First you tell us that under English regs you cannot get a successful psyche. Now you tell us we can get a successful psyche, but only if something-or-other happens. Obviously. So? Incidentally, before I was voted off the L&EC I saw every psyche form for many many years, and the assertion is certainly not true. My regular partner decided to psyche. First she opened 1♠ third in hand: -800. Some months later she bid 1NT in some sequence for other. -300 against nothing. Some months later she opened a Green Spanish spade. I raised to 2♠ on a hand that most people would pass on. The defence allowed her about six tricks and were a bit miffed to find 4♠ was cold their way. Note that I took some action. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted November 2, 2012 Report Share Posted November 2, 2012 The EBU policy is that if you psyche and get a good board with no fielding you will not be ruled against. Ah, as against the Norfolk de facto rule which states that after opps have psyched, you can be as unethical as you like as the psychers will never win a ruling whatever you've done. Bitter and twisted, Norwich. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.