Jump to content

Pair of COOTs?


nige1

Recommended Posts

  1. West opens 1 (Natural).
  2. North overcalls 1 (Natural).
  3. East trances.
  4. South bids 2 out of turn before East has called. (South incorrectly thought East passed . Then systemically 2 would be a cue-bid in support of ).
  5. East wakes up and doubles (East did not see South's 2 bid and wants to double 1 negatively).
  6. West calls the director.
  7. What are the relevant laws?
  8. What is the ruling?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  1. What are the relevant laws?
  2. What is the ruling?

L28B says:

A call is considered to be in rotation when made by a player whose turn it

was to call before rectification has been assessed for a call out of rotation

by an opponent. Making such a call forfeits the right to rectification for the

call out of rotation. The auction proceeds as though the opponent had not

called at that turn, but Law 16D2 applies.

 

L16D2 says:

When a call or play has been withdrawn as these laws provide:

1. For a non-offending side, all information arising from a withdrawn action

is authorized, whether the action be its own or its opponents’.

2. For an offending side, information arising from its own withdrawn action

and from withdrawn actions of the non-offending side is unauthorized.

A player of an offending side may not choose from among logical

alternative actions one that could demonstrably have been suggested

over another by the unauthorized information.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Didn't your director say the same?
This incident occurred at a friend's table and I offered to ask about here. The director said that South could make a sufficient bid but North was barred from taking further action. The over-all quality of direction is high but (assuming that I've correctly presented the facts) the harassed director may have got this wrong.

.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Gordon. For the logic challenged among us (Ok ..... for me) does your reply mean

 

East has doubled.

This cancels any rectification for South's bid out of turn.

 

"The auction proceeds as though the opponent had not called at that turn"

South may now bid anything he likes.

 

South's desire to bid 2 in an undoubled auction is AI to E/W but UI to N/S

 

Thanks.....Rich

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...