nige1 Posted October 23, 2012 Report Share Posted October 23, 2012 West opens 1♣ (Natural).North overcalls 1♠ (Natural).East trances.South bids 2♣ out of turn before East has called. (South incorrectly thought East passed . Then systemically 2♣ would be a cue-bid in support of ♠).East wakes up and doubles (East did not see South's 2♣ bid and wants to double 1♠ negatively).West calls the director.What are the relevant laws?What is the ruling? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted October 23, 2012 Report Share Posted October 23, 2012 What are the relevant laws?What is the ruling?L28B says:A call is considered to be in rotation when made by a player whose turn itwas to call before rectification has been assessed for a call out of rotationby an opponent. Making such a call forfeits the right to rectification for thecall out of rotation. The auction proceeds as though the opponent had notcalled at that turn, but Law 16D2 applies. L16D2 says:When a call or play has been withdrawn as these laws provide:1. For a non-offending side, all information arising from a withdrawn actionis authorized, whether the action be its own or its opponents’.2. For an offending side, information arising from its own withdrawn actionand from withdrawn actions of the non-offending side is unauthorized.A player of an offending side may not choose from among logicalalternative actions one that could demonstrably have been suggestedover another by the unauthorized information. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted October 23, 2012 Author Report Share Posted October 23, 2012 L28B L16D2 Thank you Gordon! Simple! and Quick! :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paulg Posted October 23, 2012 Report Share Posted October 23, 2012 Thank you Gordon! Simple! and Quick! :)Didn't your director say the same? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted October 23, 2012 Report Share Posted October 23, 2012 My bad. I thought the title referred to my partner and myself. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted October 24, 2012 Author Report Share Posted October 24, 2012 Didn't your director say the same? This incident occurred at a friend's table and I offered to ask about here. The director said that South could make a sufficient bid but North was barred from taking further action. The over-all quality of direction is high but (assuming that I've correctly presented the facts) the harassed director may have got this wrong.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted October 26, 2012 Report Share Posted October 26, 2012 I bet he did not open the Law book. :( Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted October 26, 2012 Report Share Posted October 26, 2012 "May have"? :o :blink: <_< Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
richlp Posted October 26, 2012 Report Share Posted October 26, 2012 Gordon. For the logic challenged among us (Ok ..... for me) does your reply mean East has doubled.This cancels any rectification for South's bid out of turn. "The auction proceeds as though the opponent had not called at that turn"South may now bid anything he likes. South's desire to bid 2♣ in an undoubled auction is AI to E/W but UI to N/S Thanks.....Rich Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.