SteveMoe Posted August 22, 2012 Report Share Posted August 22, 2012 [hv=d=e&v=e&b=6&a=1dp1hp2dd]133|100[/hv] 2/1 context. 2♦ rebid likely on 6... The coffeehousing discussion has identified 2 or 3 possibilities: 1) Constructive black suit takeout - too weak to double or overcall at first...2) Opening hand (+) takeout of ♥, unable/unwilling to overcall ♠ on a 4-card suit, penalty overtones toward ♦3) 4=4=4=1 or 4=4=3=2 with constructive or opening (+) values. What would expert standard suggest? What do you think South holds? Regards,Steve 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helene_t Posted August 22, 2012 Report Share Posted August 22, 2012 take-out. four spades and 4 clubs (or 5 bad ones). Presumably not three hearts due to the failure to make a t/o double on first round, hence usually three diamonds but could be two. I don't think it should be a hand too weak for a t/o double in first round. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dkham Posted August 22, 2012 Report Share Posted August 22, 2012 A takeout bid showing the black suits, couldn't bid first time. Something like ♠KQxx ♥xx ♦xx ♣ AQxxx 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahydra Posted August 22, 2012 Report Share Posted August 22, 2012 A takeout bid showing the black suits, couldn't bid first time. Something like ♠KQxx ♥xx ♦xx ♣ AQxxx Would one not bid 2C with that first time? This feels to me like a prebalancing action, especially given the vul - some sort of J10xx Kxx xx AQxx or something. ahydra 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phil Posted August 22, 2012 Report Share Posted August 22, 2012 4-5 blacks or so. I need a reason to bid here since I am entering a live auction. Some old timers might think this is a penalty x. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sailoranch Posted August 22, 2012 Report Share Posted August 22, 2012 Would one not bid 2C with that first time? This feels to me like a prebalancing action, especially given the vul - some sort of J10xx Kxx xx AQxx or something. ahydra I would not. There are only five clubs, and the suit quality is lacking for a two-level overcall. Plus we have xx in their suit. But styles vary, and 1♦ - (2♣) is always a pain for the opponents, as it takes away tons of bidding room and makes LHO's double nebulous. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neilkaz Posted August 23, 2012 Report Share Posted August 23, 2012 Take out for me and didn't bid the first time since my 4 card suit isn't good enough to o/c and I don't have enough ♥ to make me feel comfortable doubling initially. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteveMoe Posted August 23, 2012 Author Report Share Posted August 23, 2012 A takeout bid showing the black suits, couldn't bid first time. Something like ♠KQxx ♥xx ♦xx ♣ AQxxx Would some overcall 1♠ with this hand? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sailoranch Posted August 23, 2012 Report Share Posted August 23, 2012 Would some overcall 1♠ with this hand? Link Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gszes Posted August 23, 2012 Report Share Posted August 23, 2012 it makes no sense to x 2d for penalty--if opps wish to stop in 2d thats great for usthe only thing a penalty x will accomplish is to give them every reason to hunt aroundfor a safer spot. The x here is a much more valuable tool as tox for the black suitspreferably a nicely distributed 55 weakish hand similar to Qxxxx xx x Kxxxx we could have more tame distribution but then we would need more power to compensate with a hand like KJTx xx xxx KQJx. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteveMoe Posted August 24, 2012 Author Report Share Posted August 24, 2012 LinkThanks Neil! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ggwhiz Posted August 24, 2012 Report Share Posted August 24, 2012 There are a lot of hands that have to pass 1♦ but want to get involved now. Always 4 spades, not of the quality for an overcall and clubs. Could be looking to defend 3 of something instead of 2 or finding a profitable sacrifice opposite somthing like 5 spades, a stiff club and not much. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantumcat Posted August 28, 2012 Report Share Posted August 28, 2012 it makes no sense to x 2d for penalty--if opps wish to stop in 2d thats great for usthe only thing a penalty x will accomplish is to give them every reason to hunt aroundfor a safer spot.Also if they were about to bid something like 1♦ 1♥ 2♦ 2NT 3NT, now they can safely not bother (for a tight 3NT to make, presumably they need good things happening in diamonds, so if 2♦ doesn't make neither will NT). However what about the auction(1♣) P (1♥) P(2♣) P P X If you wanted to make a takeout for spades and diamonds, you could have doubled previously. So would this be a penalty double? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antrax Posted August 28, 2012 Report Share Posted August 28, 2012 Couldn't you just want to keep the auction alive once you know your RHO is limited? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted August 28, 2012 Report Share Posted August 28, 2012 Couldn't you just want to keep the auction alive once you know your RHO is limited?No. Not likely that with a hand which couldn't overcall the first time, a partner who also couldn't(twice), and a probable misfit for the opponents ---that we would all of a sudden decide to stick our noses into it successfully. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
han Posted August 28, 2012 Report Share Posted August 28, 2012 Aquahombre, which do you think is more likely, a penalty double of 2C, or a hand like AQxxQ10xxxKQxx Or would you not want to double 2C with this if it was takeout? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jmcw Posted August 28, 2012 Report Share Posted August 28, 2012 Would some overcall 1♠ with this hand? You asked what expert standard would be. Didn't see any of them suggest this :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted August 28, 2012 Report Share Posted August 28, 2012 Aquahombre, which do you think is more likely, a penalty double of 2C, or a hand like AQxxQ10xxxKQxx Or would you not want to double 2C with this if it was takeout?(1c) P (1H) P(2C) P (P) ? to me. The hand you give is more likely than a hand which would want to double underneath the club bidder for penalty. I wouldn't want to act at all with either of the two. If I wanted to double (with one more diamond, one less heart) I would have done so in the sandwich spot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellSpyder Posted August 28, 2012 Report Share Posted August 28, 2012 Some old timers might think this is a penalty x.Yep, that's me. I must admit that is what I would tend to assume with a decent partner, too, unless we had discussed some alternative, but I see from this thread that I had better be careful about making that assumption... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted August 28, 2012 Report Share Posted August 28, 2012 4-5 blacks or so. I need a reason to bid here since I am entering a live auction. Some old timers might think this is a penalty x.Back when Phil posted, he was dealing with Steve's original auction, not the off-shoots. In that situation, 4-5 blacks with a very strong concentration of strength in this live auction would be what allowed old timers to get to be old. Penalty is just too remote as a possibility, and even if it should come up we would probably do fine defending at a buck a trick. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
semeai Posted August 28, 2012 Report Share Posted August 28, 2012 I like the rule for this sort of situation that a double is takeout unless "The doubler passed up an opportunity to make a takeout double earlier and is not balancing at the 2-level and no new suit has been bid," as I suggested in the defaults for doubles thread. That would make (for me): 1D P 1H P; 2D X takeout1D P 1N P; 2D X penalty1D P 1H P: 2D P P X takeout Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantumcat Posted August 29, 2012 Report Share Posted August 29, 2012 So pre-balancing is excluded? Good to have a solid rule with your partner so you always know which is which :-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted August 29, 2012 Report Share Posted August 29, 2012 This thread does not have prebalancing situations. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantumcat Posted August 29, 2012 Report Share Posted August 29, 2012 This thread does not have prebalancing situations.a double is takeout unless...is not balancing at the 2-level...1D P 1N P; 2D X penaltyThis should teach me to use quotes when reply to people :-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PetteriLem Posted August 29, 2012 Report Share Posted August 29, 2012 1♦ - P - 1♥ - P;2♦ - X= punishment for me. I mean a seriously good hand with long diamonds. I dont like any of the takeout double options, because the opponents are unlimited and have not shown fit. Although I would choose option 1, if I have to pick one; at least I am trying to show a playable spot for us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts