Chris3875 Posted June 14, 2012 Report Share Posted June 14, 2012 This is a bizarre situation that was reported to me by a neighbouring club. East was the dealer and opened the bidding 1C. North then LED a small spade. I looked at Law 24 (card exposed or led prior to play period) and noted that card be left face up on the table until the auction period ends, etc. I am a little confused with Law 24B - does that mean that in this situation South must now pass at his first turn to call ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted June 14, 2012 Report Share Posted June 14, 2012 Yes. I can't help thinking this law would be clearer if "then" were replaced by "and". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahydra Posted June 14, 2012 Report Share Posted June 14, 2012 Agree - that "then" is silly as it really does read like you're meant to pass after the auction's finished! To the Changing Laws forum! \o- I think rather than substitute "then" for "and", the entire bit If the offender becomesdeclarer or dummy, the cards are picked up and returnedto the hand. If the offender becomes a defender, everysuch card becomes a penalty card (see Law 50) should be moved to a paragraph D "At the End of the Auction". That way the progression of text follows the progression of play. ahydra Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris3875 Posted June 17, 2012 Author Report Share Posted June 17, 2012 One of the directors here has made a point that the small spade "prematurely led during the auction period" should be a minor penalty card should the offender become a defender. Law 24 relates to the auction period, so a card led or exposed during this time is not a lead in the real sense of the word. A lead can only be made after the auction period finishes, so any card exposed before this cannot become a major penalty card if below the rank of honour. I would have thought it was a major penalty card by virtue of the fact that it was exposed deliberately. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted June 17, 2012 Report Share Posted June 17, 2012 What a strange argument for him to present, when the very law he quotes gives the lie to it. Perhaps pointing him to L50 as well would do the trick? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted June 17, 2012 Report Share Posted June 17, 2012 Was he trying to bid 2, 3, or 4 ♠? some of us old people can empathize :rolleyes: Wouldn't change the ruling, but... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
campboy Posted June 17, 2012 Report Share Posted June 17, 2012 One of the directors here has made a point that the small spade "prematurely led during the auction period" should be a minor penalty card should the offender become a defender. Law 24 relates to the auction period, so a card led or exposed during this time is not a lead in the real sense of the word. A lead can only be made after the auction period finishes, so any card exposed before this cannot become a major penalty card if below the rank of honour. I would have thought it was a major penalty card by virtue of the fact that it was exposed deliberately.Whether it is a "lead" is irrelevant. Law 50 says "any card exposed through deliberate play [...] becomes a major penalty card". This card was exposed through deliberate play. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted June 18, 2012 Report Share Posted June 18, 2012 What a strange argument for him to present, when the very law he quotes gives the lie to it. Perhaps pointing him to L50 as well would do the trick?Yeah, he seems to be saying that "led during the auction period" is an oxymoron, and thus the law never applies in this case. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jules101 Posted June 29, 2012 Report Share Posted June 29, 2012 Was he trying to bid 2, 3, or 4 ♠? some of us old people can empathize :rolleyes: Wouldn't change the ruling, but... I once bid 1♦ (first bid of auction), and LHO (who seemed to be in a bit of a dwam) led the 2♦ much to the surprise of the other 3 of us at the table. The director was quite excited to get an uncommon ruling rather than the usual nonsense! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.