pigpenz Posted June 5, 2012 Report Share Posted June 5, 2012 at the club game todaythere was a fouled board where one hand had 12 cards and the other 14by the time the players figured it out it was trick 10 or so.the TD let the result the contract was headed for, how you determine that I dont know. what should the ruling be according to the laws? i would assign avg+/avg-i assume it was the same pair directionnot both pairs. thanks in advance Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 5, 2012 Report Share Posted June 5, 2012 I would not make that assumption. Law 13 applies here. In general, this law requires or may require an adjusted score. Whether one is required here depends on which hand held 14 cards, and where that fourteenth card is at the time the problem is discovered and the director presumably called. It is (just barely, IMO) possible that the irregularity did not affect the bidding or previous play, in which case the card, if it has not been played, can be moved to the correct hand, play continues, and the score stands. If the fourteenth card is among the quitted tricks then I think you have to award an ArtAS. What that score should be depends on which hands were defective and how they came to be that way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pigpenz Posted June 5, 2012 Author Report Share Posted June 5, 2012 I would not make that assumption. Law 13 applies here. In general, this law requires or may require an adjusted score. Whether one is required here depends on which hand held 14 cards, and where that fourteenth card is at the time the problem is discovered and the director presumably called. It is (just barely, IMO) possible that the irregularity did not affect the bidding or previous play, in which case the card, if it has not been played, can be moved to the correct hand, play continues, and the score stands. If the fourteenth card is among the quitted tricks then I think you have to award an ArtAS. What that score should be depends on which hands were defective and how they came to be that way.what I was told was that it was at trick 11should there then be a procedural penalty against the pair that fouled the board?or should it only be based on their level of expertise, i have no idea wether they werea novice or advanced player. thanks for your fast reply Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted June 5, 2012 Report Share Posted June 5, 2012 There should probably be a PP against the pair that fouled the board, although I realize that we tend to let things slide at clubs. You should also warn the players at this table that they MUST count their cards when they remove them from the board; if they're experienced players, you might consider a PP against them as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Posted June 6, 2012 Report Share Posted June 6, 2012 if they're experienced players, you might consider a PP against them as well.if they are experienced players they will notice they have 12 or 14 before 11th trick. I though the av- was enough penalty BTW Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 6, 2012 Report Share Posted June 6, 2012 A score adjustment is not a penalty. Directors, in particular, need to get rid of that mindset. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Codo Posted June 6, 2012 Report Share Posted June 6, 2012 That it is not a penalty does not mean that less experienced players will not understand it as a penalty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelandakh Posted June 6, 2012 Report Share Posted June 6, 2012 If I receive a lower score than I might have expected because of something I did wrong then in everyday parlance this is a penalty, regardless of what a TD wants to call it. This is different from a case of restoring equity. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nige1 Posted June 6, 2012 Report Share Posted June 6, 2012 A score adjustment is not a penalty. Directors, in particular, need to get rid of that mindset. That it is not a penalty does not mean that less experienced players will not understand it as a penalty. IMO this "Adjustment" is a "Penalty". A rare island of "Deterrence" in a sewage-pool of "Equity". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted June 6, 2012 Report Share Posted June 6, 2012 That it is not a penalty does not mean that less experienced players will not misunderstand it as a penalty.FYP. B-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted June 12, 2012 Report Share Posted June 12, 2012 What should the TD do? Read the Law out from the book and apply it. Did he? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.