Quartic Posted May 30, 2012 Report Share Posted May 30, 2012 [hv=pc=n&s=s64h42dkt98762cq2&w=sqj952h873daqcat3&n=skt873haq65dck974&e=sahkjt9dj543cj865&d=s&v=0&b=11&a=p1n(12-14)2c(%21h%20and%20another)p2d(alerted)p2sd(Alerted)3dppd(Alerted)pp4cd4sdppp]399|300[/hv] North went down 6 for 1400. East called the director after the play because West had alerted his double of 2♠, which he (Edit: East) thought was takeout in their system. How do you rule? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted May 30, 2012 Report Share Posted May 30, 2012 What does South say he would have done, and why, if the double of 2♠ had not been alerted? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quartic Posted May 31, 2012 Author Report Share Posted May 31, 2012 What does South say he would have done, and why, if the double of 2♠ had not been alerted? Unfortunately, this wasn't asked at the table. (I wasn't the director, I was East.) I think South would probably still have bid 3♦, but I think he might have passed instead. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted May 31, 2012 Report Share Posted May 31, 2012 Admittedly we need more information, for example an answer to Gordon's question, but I suspect that even if there is MI there is no damage. North understandably failed to pass 3♦ doubled which might get out for 500. He probably should but voids are tricky to put down in dummy! I hardly see the alerts make a lot of difference. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
iviehoff Posted May 31, 2012 Report Share Posted May 31, 2012 North went down 6 for 1400. East called the director after the play because West had alerted his double of 2♠, which he thought was takeout in their system. How do you rule?Since it is penalty doubles of suit bids that are alerted, and East is short in Spades, I presume you mean"West alerted East's double of 2S, because West thought it was a penalty double, but East thought was a take-out double". Why did N alert 2D? I rather suspect S is bidding 3D regardless. After 3D and 4C have been doubled for penalties, with the proper alerts, S has returned to 4S despite being told (I presume) that E's takeout double was for penalties. If he is told it is for takeout, presumably he will return there with greater alacrity. Is S claiming that he will bid 3S instead of passing when 3D was doubled if he is told the double of 2S was for takeout? I don't believe that either. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trinidad Posted May 31, 2012 Report Share Posted May 31, 2012 Why did N alert 2D? I suspect because 2♦ asks for North's second suit. Rik Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
iviehoff Posted May 31, 2012 Report Share Posted May 31, 2012 I presume you mean "West alerted East's double of 2S, because West thought it was a penalty double, but East thought was a take-out double".I've now read what you (Quartic) wrote more carefully, and it makes sense to me now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.