Jump to content

Belated "alert"


Coelacanth

Recommended Posts

Well, that's your problem right there. It's Just Not Fair for Weaker Players to get Good Scores against Us. :-)

If I may be allowed a digression .........

 

I have just played in the Liverpool Open Pairs, a sadly minor event [used to be quite important]. Ted Reveley, one of the top players in our area [and famous for the Reveley ruling of several years ago] was playing. On one hand he complained that "It wasn't fair" and for once I had sympathy. East-West have 13 tricks in spades, five spades, five diamonds, two aces, and two ruffs in dummy. Yes, I know that's 14, but you really do have a trick to spare. Of course you have to find the Q, but since AKJxx is over Qx that should not be difficult.

 

Ted's opponents played in 4, making only 12 tricks. No matchpoints for Ted. :) :D :lol:

 

The other two scores were 4 making 11 tricks and [against us] 6 making 11 tricks. The play could merely be described as horrific.

 

We told Ted it was an awful shame these nasty opponents getting good boards against him. :rolleyes: :P ;)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

However, everything else south said is simply disclosure of facts, made with full expectation that only the opponents (perhaps less experienced) could benefit. Absent some other information, I believe that south's remarks were motivated by sportsmanship and active ethics, and that therefore a procedural penalty would be grossly inappropriate.

 

Odd that you should mention ZT. Part of South's desire to be "overly helpful" on this hand may be related to the previous hand, where I very nearly called the TD over to enforce ZT. On the previous hand, the auction went

[hv=d=e&v=0&b=14&a=2s3h3s3np]133|100[/hv]

 

South, holding a weakish (in the context of having made an overcall at the 3-level) hand with 0724 shape, bid 4. This resulted in his side's reaching a hopeless 6 instead of 3NT or 4, either of which is cold for 11 tricks. (North was 4234). This poor result was, in South's opinion, entirely North's fault, a fact which he was continuing to point out right up to the point where he passed his partner's forcing call on the subsequent hand.

Well this certainly qualifies as more information. Now I will consider that perhaps south's intent was to punish his partner, rather than help the opponents.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...