CSGibson Posted March 9, 2012 Report Share Posted March 9, 2012 [hv=pc=n&s=sj95hdkt98cqt9853&d=e&v=n&b=2&a=pp1s2hp]133|200[/hv] 1) Agree with pass to begin with? 2) What do you do now? (I have strong opinions on this, and I'm floating this hand to see how reasonable those opinions are) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daveharty Posted March 9, 2012 Report Share Posted March 9, 2012 1. Yes.2. Pass. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wyman Posted March 9, 2012 Report Share Posted March 9, 2012 The old get-partner-barred-and-bid-3C trick might work best, but I'd be surprised if people are doing anything but passing here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ggwhiz Posted March 9, 2012 Report Share Posted March 9, 2012 Scheinwolds first rule of holes. When you are in one, stop digging. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Codo Posted March 9, 2012 Report Share Posted March 9, 2012 1. Yes.2. Pass. nothing to add. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mikeh Posted March 9, 2012 Report Share Posted March 9, 2012 Why are we even thinking of bidding? If we are terrified of playing 2♥, remember we don't have to pass if LHO doubles and RHO passes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HighLow21 Posted March 9, 2012 Report Share Posted March 9, 2012 1. Yes.2. Pass.What Dave said. I'm fully prepared to re-introduce the word "ludicrous" in this discussion if need be. :-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahydra Posted March 10, 2012 Report Share Posted March 10, 2012 1) What exactly can I open on that?! 3C would be absolutely suicidal 2nd in at this vul. 2) Pass. Just apologise to partner when the dummy comes down. If it gets doubled, bid 2NT scrambling if you have it, otherwise 3C. (With a vaguely intelligent partner 2S might also work, though some might take that as natural 7+ cards...) If opps rescue you, keep quiet and smile. :) ahydra Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JustaDummy Posted March 10, 2012 Report Share Posted March 10, 2012 OK, I've been encouraged in another post to ask questions (sorry if this bores Aguahombre).2) Pass. Just apologise to partner when the dummy comes down. If it gets doubled, bid 2NT scrambling if you have itPlease explain what you mean by "scrambling if you have it"With a vaguely intelligent partner 2S might also work, though some might take that as natural 7+ cards...Ignoring your pejorative remarks regarding intelligence (remember that lack of knowledge does not always align with lack of intelligence), are you saying that this 2 spades bid is clearly an invitation to takeout? I sometimes need to have things like this stuck to my forehead with a stapling gun. :P Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
squealydan Posted March 10, 2012 Report Share Posted March 10, 2012 OK, I've been encouraged in another post to ask questions (sorry if this bores Aguahombre).Please explain what you mean by "scrambling if you have it" Where a no-trump bid is unlikely to be natural, it is "scrambling" usually showing minor suits. Consider this sort of auction : [1♥]-p-[2♥]-Xp- 2NT With the opposition having shown a heart fit, 2NT is unlikely to be the best spot for your side, so after partner doubled and forced you to bid, you can bid 2NT here which is often played as the scrambling no-trump. It denies spades and shows length in both minors, asking doubler for her better minor. Doubler will definitely have spades here but may not have both minors, so 2NT is better than just bidding a suit as it should ensure you find a good fit. The post you referred to implied that having passed earlier (twice), if your partner's 2♥ bid was doubled and came back to you, like this : p-p-[1♠]-2♥p-p-x-pp-?? it seems unlikely that you could want to play in 2NT as a natural contract, so again 2NT could be "scrambling", showing both minors. I'll admit that I haven't seen it played much in this particular situation, as you could also "redouble for rescue" here, again showing both minors. Ahydra also said you might bid 2S to do the same thing. If you haven't discussed these things with your partner, then you can use whichever one you think partner is most likely to interpret correctly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts