Finch Posted February 26, 2012 Report Share Posted February 26, 2012 Hand 1:[hv=pc=n&s=sk4hkt64dkj85cj74&w=s973h832d63ca9632&n=sa8652haqj5dat42c&e=sqjth97dq97ckqt85]399|300[/hv] Declarer is in 6D by South.He gets the ace of clubs lead and plays as follows:ace of clubs lead ruffedspade to the kingclub ruffedheart to the kingclub ruffedace of diamondsace of spadesspade ruffed in handking of diamonds (discarding a spade)heart to dummy he is now in this position with the lead in dummy (sorry if the pips have changed a bit): [hv=pc=n&s=sht6djc&w=sh7dc84&n=s7haqdc&e=shdqckq]399|300[/hv] The cards are now played as follows:Ace of hearts, queen of diamonds, 6 of hearts, 7 heartsEast plays the king of clubs and South plays the 10 of hearts, then says "you get a trump" South, an honest citizen, admits that he hadn't seen the ruff, and thought he was following to another winning card from dummy. How do you rule?How do you rule if South instead says "I was claiming the last two tricks, not following to the club" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrdct Posted February 26, 2012 Report Share Posted February 26, 2012 In both cases I rule down one. In the initial scenario, he could change the ♥10 to the ♦J if it was an unintended play and he did so without pause for thought (Law 45C4b). However, on the facts presented it was an intended play based on a misapprehension that the previous trick hadn't been ruffed that was reinforced by his attempted concession of a trump. In the second scenario, I don't buy it - if he was claiming he wouldn't have played the ♥10, he would've faced his hand or otherwise indicate he was ruffing the ♣K and taking the last trick with dummy's ♥A. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted February 26, 2012 Report Share Posted February 26, 2012 In the initial scenario, he could change the ♥10 to the ♦J if it was an unintended play and he did so without pause for thought (Law 45C4b).Declarer can't. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted February 26, 2012 Report Share Posted February 26, 2012 Law 45C4b has to do with unintended designations. There was no designation here, declarer played the ♥10. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.