Fluffy Posted January 11, 2012 Report Share Posted January 11, 2012 [hv=pc=n&s=shjdtc&w=sh7d9c&n=shqdca&e=s9hdc8]399|300[/hv] East is playing 4♠, with 2 tricks to go she leads ♦9 from dummy, my partner hesitates for a long time and trows away ♣A. I dump my cards face down conceding, and 2 seconds later RHO pitches ♣8 on ♦9 , she admits later that she though ♦9 was good. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted January 11, 2012 Report Share Posted January 11, 2012 It would be good to know what happened next. Was abandonning your hand recognised as a concession? [Law 68B1]Did declarer accept the concession? [Law 69]Did partner immediately object to the concession? [Law 68B2]Did you attempt to withdraw your concession? [Law 71] There was a concession. Unless partner immediately objected play ceases. Declarer will accept the concession. If the defenders attempt to withdraw the concession, the TD will cancel the concession "if a player has conceded a trick that could not be lost by any normal play of the remaining cards". [Law 71 2.] The play of ♣8 occured after the concession but the TD "may accept it as evidence of the players’ probable plays subsequent to the claim". [Law 70D3] This may mean that ♣8 is a normal play, but I think that ruffing is nevertheless also a normal play for declarer. In which case, there is a normal play by which the conceded tricks could be lost. The concession stands: two tricks to declarer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted January 11, 2012 Report Share Posted January 11, 2012 misclick :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gnasher Posted January 11, 2012 Report Share Posted January 11, 2012 This may mean that ♣8 is a normal play, but I think that ruffing is nevertheless also a normal play for declarer. In which case, there is a normal play by which the conceded tricks could be lost. The concession stands: two tricks to declarer.Ruffing isn't a normal play for a declarer who thinks ♦9 is good. Does that matter? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted January 11, 2012 Report Share Posted January 11, 2012 Ruffing isn't a normal play for a declarer who thinks ♦9 is good. Does that matter?Yes. It would be possible to rule that ruffing is not a normal play. Some think that Law 70D3 should be used in this way. In which case the concession (of two tricks) is cancelled and the defence get one trick. Perhaps because of its history/motivation, I think Law 70D3 should be used to widen the scope of normal plays for the claiming/conceding side but should not be used to narrow the scopre of normal plays for the other side. But there is nothing explicit in the law to support this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted January 11, 2012 Report Share Posted January 11, 2012 I wonder if South conceding (without showing his cards) is what made declarer think the ♦9 was good. Does this change what's considered "normal"? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted January 11, 2012 Report Share Posted January 11, 2012 I wonder if South conceding (without showing his cards) is what made declarer think the ♦9 was good. Does this change what's considered "normal"? +1. I wondered that too. I would have justed clicked "+" to up-vote if I could. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted January 11, 2012 Report Share Posted January 11, 2012 Can't up-vote or down-vote an admin's posts. BTW, Barry, congrats. B-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
iviehoff Posted January 12, 2012 Report Share Posted January 12, 2012 (edited) Edited to remove completely misconceived post. Edited January 12, 2012 by iviehoff Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.