myprac Posted December 13, 2011 Report Share Posted December 13, 2011 If my partner opens 1♥ and RH overcalls 2♣, one of the bids available to me as responder is 2NT. Yet GIB's rollover description is blank for 2NT in this situation. I'm not smart enough to know what 2NT should mean here, but shouldn't it mean something? Otherwise we're wasting an opportunity to convey information about the responding hand. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted December 13, 2011 Report Share Posted December 13, 2011 Maybe it should be used to show a hand which thinks it can make 2NT opposite a weak opening bid, or 3NT opposite a decent minimum. Maybe the programmers forgot to plug in words to describe this natural bid. Did they also fail to describe 3NT or 6NT? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
barmar Posted December 13, 2011 Report Share Posted December 13, 2011 This looks like a bug. There's an entry for 2NT over a 2D or 2H overcall, but not over 2C. Looks like what happened is they used the same rules for bidding 2NT over a 1-level or 2-level overcall. But there's no such thing as a 1C overcall, so they didn't create a rule for this. We should add this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.