Toradin Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 Hi all, [hv=pc=n&s=skjt95h862dq6caj3&w=s6hakj3dkjt9742c5&n=sq8732hqt954da8c8&e=sa4h7d53ckqt97642&d=e&v=0&b=14&a=3cp3dp3s(Not%20alerted)p4dppp]399|300[/hv] The EW pair had a convention card for the event, but the 3♠ bid in this sequence was not found on their card. It was not alerted either. Thinking the bid was natural, the South player chose to pass instead of double for the lead. At the end of the auction, the North player inquired about the 3♠ bid, and was told that she thought it showed a stopper in the suit bid, but was not sure. A heart was led, which allowed the contract to make. The director was called at the end of the hand and the ruling was that there was no misinformation since the EW pair did not have a firm agreement and that the South player ought to have inquired about the bid before passing, hence there would be no adjustment. Was this the right ruling, and was the South player correct to wait until the end of the hand before summoning the director, or should he have done so immediately after he heard the correct explanation before the opening lead? Thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 Score stands for me for several reasons. 1. 4♦ makes on a spade lead (needs ace and another trump I think), ruff 2 hearts in dummy and play for trumps 2-2 or Q stiff by leading the K. 2. Not sure about Singapore, but in the UK there is a "general bridge knowledge" clause which means that since most people don't open a preempt with a side major, 3♠ is pretty normally just a stop and opps should know that. 3. I don't see why S doesn't double even if it is a suit. 4. The director is correct about the "no agreement" bit. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trinidad Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 Score stands for me for several reasons. 1. 4♦ makes on a spade lead (needs ace and another trump I think), ruff 2 hearts in dummy and play for trumps 2-2 or Q stiff by leading the K.I agree with your 2-4, so this is not really affecting the ruling. But I assume that the last heart will be overruffed. Now, declarer has to decide whether he will play for a stiff Q (by playing the king) or a stiff A (by playing small). I would say that there is about a 50% chance that he guesses wrong. (Of course, there is still the chance that North will play the ace -crashing the queen- to try and get a club ruff. Rik Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 I agree with your 2-4, so this is not really affecting the ruling. But I assume that the last heart will be overruffed. Now, declarer has to decide whether he will play for a stiff Q (by playing the king) or a stiff A (by playing small). I would say that there is about a 50% chance that he guesses wrong. (Of course, there is still the chance that North will play the ace -crashing the queen- to try and get a club ruff. RikOP didn't state form of scoring, but MPs K is clear as it guarantees the overtrick if you catch the stiff Q, guaranteeing beating anybody who plays in clubs, but that is what was in my mind. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 The "General Bridge Knowledge" clause to which Cyberyeti refers is part of the laws, so is applicable everywhere. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
iviehoff Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 was the South player correct to wait until the end of the hand before summoning the director, or should he have done so immediately after he heard the correct explanation before the opening lead? Thanks!If you think there has been a misexplanation in the auction by the opposition, you should call the director immediately. If the director agrees there has been a misexplanation, provided the opening lead has not been faced, the director can rule that the auction be rolled back to your side's last bid and re-opened from that point. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 ... the director can rule that the auction be rolled back to your side's last bid and re-opened from that point. I think you mean "call" not "bid", and in fact it will be a Pass. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mycroft Posted December 8, 2011 Report Share Posted December 8, 2011 South's argument might be that 4♠X from South makes 9 tricks, but that's a tiny target to hit. He might also be arguing that 4♠ by North probably won't get doubled, and he'd be defending 5 of a minor on a spade lead. That's more plausible. Having said that, thinking that 3♠ is a suit is as many people are saying, somewhat odd. Also, why not double *anyway*? Aren't you going to want to defend 3♠X if they decide to sit it? What else is double for, takeout for hearts? I'm not one for GBK in general, but this looks like it if anything does. South does not *lose* any of his rights (except the one to take the last pass back, but what is he going to do there?), in particular, rights to an adjustment, if he waits until the end of the hand; but I have to admit I don't see the damage, either side. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.