VixTD Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 [hv=pc=n&s=sajhakj98643djc83&w=sk76htdt82ckqj965&n=sq8542hq5da654ct2&e=st93h72dkq973ca74&d=e&v=n&b=2&a=p3np4cp4hp4sp5dp5hppp]399|300[/hv]Inter-county teams-of-eight, cross-IMPs -> VPs 3NT (alerted) = 13-16 pts with a long major4♣ = request to bid one step below the major held4♥ = forgotten the system Result: 5♥(S)-1, NS -100 EW called the TD (again, not me) at the end of play, and asked for a ruling. Can you see any reason to adjust the score? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BunnyGo Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 I am not a TD, but why is North bidding 5♥? Is it a bid to accommodate his partner's misbid? Otherwise it seems like a strange bid. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jnichols Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 And why is South bidding 5♦? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
campboy Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 I think we need to know more about the methods. If, for example, 4♠ is an absolute signoff in this sequence (as seems like a sensible agreement) then 5♦ makes it clear that South has misbid in some way. I don't think there can be any problem with the 5♦ bid itself, since South doesn't have UI and can't be fielding anything. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oof Arted Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 mmmm James its not the same ruddy pair forn your nuber 1 is it If so 60/30 em Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 (edited) 3NT (alerted) = 13-16 pts with a long major4♣ = request to bid one step below the major held4♥ = forgotten the system It is not clear if these were responses to questions or just a description of the calls. I assume that only 3NT was alerted and no explanations were given during the auction, so North/South had no UI. ... in which case the only adjustment would be a fielded misbid for AVE-/AVE+, but it looks like NS have already lost the comparisons by more than the relevant amount. Edited November 29, 2011 by RMB1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 Looks like no case for adjustment unless some other UI was floating around. 4♠/5♦ are just cues from S's point of view and 5♥ a signoff missing a club control. Why N bid 5♥ is less clear and I'd like to hear his version of why, but I suspect since 4♠ looks like a signoff, he may have diagnosed what happened when partner bid over it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billw55 Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 Result: 5♥(S)-1, NS -100 EW called the TD (again, not me) at the end of play, and asked for a ruling. Can you see any reason to adjust the score?eh, I dont understand some players. Ops botched their auction and handed over an ice cold vulnerable game, at IMPs even. What more can they want? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pig Trader Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 mmmm James its not the same ruddy pair forn your nuber 1 is it If so 60/30 em No - This was from a different group - Honest, Guv! Barrie :rolleyes: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AlexJonson Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 It is not clear if these were responses to questions or just a description of the calls. I assume that only 3NT was alerted and no explanations were given during the auction, so North/South had no UI. ... in which case the only adjustment would be a fielded misbid for AVE-/AVE+, but it looks like NS have already lost the comparisons by more than the relevant amount. Is the 5H still treated as a fielded misbid, if there was no UI, and a concealed understanding is vanishingly unlikely? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RMB1 Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 (edited) Is the 5H still treated as a fielded misbid, if there was no UI, and a concealed understanding is vanishingly unlikely? I was just trying to focus in on what the issues were, not suggesting that there was necessaruily a fielded misbid. We could rule red fielded misbid if we thought the only reason for 5♥ was a concealed implicit agreement that 4♥ could be long ♥ (presumably, an implicit agreement based on opener having forgotten before). Edited November 29, 2011 by RMB1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ant590 Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 As other posters have commented, it seems that the following situation could be possible: 4♣: North "transfer to your major"South "bid your major" 4[hearts}:South "this is my major"North "partner has spades" 4♠:North "I want to play here opposite your spade hand"South "Cuebid agreeing hearts" 5♦:South "Cooperating with the cuebidding auction, highlighting club issue"North "WTF, either partner has slam try after making a limited opening, or he's forgotten system" 5♥:North "Guess he's forgotten system"South "Ok, neither of us have a club control, lets hope this isn't -1" However, there seem to be two questions:(a) Can slam tries me made after the 4♣ bid?(b) Is the case that responder can make slam tries, but opener can't? I wouldn't feel comfortable making a ruling until hearing NS's account of the auction, and the above questions. It could be the case of a fielded misbid, and North perhaps should have continued to bid 5♠ etc? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 I agree with RMB1 that you might consider ruling fielded misbid, but NS have already got a far worse result than av+/av- so I would rule the result stands. Unless there was some explicit UI at the table, North's 5H bid is simply catering for a system screw-up, which indeed has happened. I can't see how EW can ask for more. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted November 30, 2011 Report Share Posted November 30, 2011 Is the 5H still treated as a fielded misbid, if there was no UI, and a concealed understanding is vanishingly unlikely?No, but in this case it is quite likely: it just means he has forgotten before! :) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
phil_20686 Posted November 30, 2011 Report Share Posted November 30, 2011 I cant understand any adjustment here. Seems like south's bidding is beyond reproach - he thought they were cue bidding hearts and respected the 5 level sign off. To north souths bidding clearly reveals the misunderstanding - he basically appears to have opened 3N with a hand that can drive slam on its own when I havent promised any values, so its pretty clear he has forgotten and must think 4S is a slam move in hearts. Since that is AI, I can bid 5h. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
phil_20686 Posted November 30, 2011 Report Share Posted November 30, 2011 No, but in this case it is quite likely: it just means he has forgotten before! :) If they had a CPU north would have passed 4H.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
VixTD Posted December 1, 2011 Author Report Share Posted December 1, 2011 Perhaps this one wasn't so interesting, as the only problem is whether there's been a fielded misbid, and as many of you have pointed out, EW haven't been damaged if there has, but I was interested to know what you think of South's actions. Like Phil, I couldn't see anything wrong with South's bidding if he was trying to cue-bid and then giving up when North denied a club control, but he might have just been making a bid that he feels is most likely to elicit a 5♥ response from North so he can pass safely. I too would like to have asked NS why they bid the way they did; there may have been an innocent explanation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.