helene_t Posted October 11, 2004 Report Share Posted October 11, 2004 [hv=d=n&v=e&n=skqxxxhaqxxxdaxcx&w=stxhktxxdktxcaqtx&e=sajxxxhjxxdjckxxx&s=sxhxdqxxxxxxcjxxx]399|300|Scoring: IMP1♠-p-p-dblp-p-2♦-dbl*2♥-p-2♠-dblp-p-?p[/hv]Before her final pass, South asked what West's second double meant. East said "penalty". South maintained that she would have bid 3♦ if she had got a correct explanation. Are NS entitled to a corrected score?Btw, West doubled because he was afraid that a pass would not be forcing. Is that correct? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Free Posted October 11, 2004 Report Share Posted October 11, 2004 After the first Dbl, East passed on 1♠ doubled. So why would you ever go to 2♠ anyway? You KNOW you'll get penalty doubled, you KNOW where the ♠s are, and you KNOW you'll go 1 more down than in 1♠*... If West's partner can convert and takeout dbl to penalty at the 1-level on his own, West himself can certainly penalty double with 2 ♠s from the Ten! North should've just passed 2♦, and now, there's no way back. Even if the explanations would be wrong, it was still North's decision to bid 2♥ with great ♦ support, South's decision to bid 2♠ to play in a 5-1 fit which WILL be doubled again by either opponent, and 3♦ would be absolutely crazy with Qxxxxxx opposite nothing in ♦ (which North promisses by pulling 2♦). It's just a matter of wacky bidding by both North and South imo. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helium Posted October 11, 2004 Report Share Posted October 11, 2004 After the first Dbl, East passed on 1♠ doubled. So why would you ever go to 2♠ anyway? You KNOW you'll get penalty doubled, you KNOW where the ♠s are, and you KNOW you'll go 1 more down than in 1♠*... If West's partner can convert and takeout dbl to penalty at the 1-level on his own, West himself can certainly penalty double with 2 ♠s from the Ten! North should've just passed 2♦, and now, there's no way back. Even if the explanations would be wrong, it was still North's decision to bid 2♥ with great ♦ support, South's decision to bid 2♠ to play in a 5-1 fit which WILL be doubled again by either opponent, and 3♦ would be absolutely crazy with Qxxxxxx opposite nothing in ♦ (which North promisses by pulling 2♦). It's just a matter of wacky bidding by both North and South imo. Totally agree:))) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
inquiry Posted October 11, 2004 Report Share Posted October 11, 2004 Not that is matters, but after 1♠ was passed for penatly, with WEST hand I would also double 2♦. But here this would beGarozzo 2/3 Doubles... where the double shows 2 or 3 diamonds, with 1 or 4+ I would make a forcing pass. I would not alert this as "penalty" of course, I would alert it as Garozzo 2/3 Double showing 2 or 3 diamonds and a willingness to cooperate in a doubled diamond contract. IF EW are not playing something like this, I don't see a horrible problem with WEST thinking this was a penalty double of 2♦, at least if it makes, it is not game. If I held that west hand playing that double was penalty I would pass, to see what partner wanted to do, but this is a matter of judgement. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chamaco Posted October 11, 2004 Report Share Posted October 11, 2004 Without special agreements, the second double by west is penalty. This follow the rule that:any double is for penalty if it was preceded by either 1) a penalty double, or 2) a penalty pass, or 3) a "natural" redouble. I like the idea of the 2/3 Garozzo doubles, but I think it requirs a good ptship agreement (just as most cool conventions :D ). Playing the "normal" penalty double, I would have made a forcing pass. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.