Jump to content

None left, partner?


jschafer

Recommended Posts

Law 61 B. Right to Inquire about a Possible Revoke

  1. Declarer may ask a defender who has failed to follow suit whether he has a card of the suit led.
  2. (a) Dummy may ask declarer (but see Law 43B2(b)).
    (b) Dummy may not ask a defender and Law 16B may apply.
  3. Defenders may ask declarer and, unless prohibited by the Regulating Authority, may ask one another (at the risk of creating unauthorized information).

 

Very few Regulating Authorities prohibit defenders asking one another: Germany may be the only one.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Do players really keep track of how consistently their opponents do such things?

Not generally. But if anyone had a suspicion about some pair, they might start keeping track of them.

 

It's like any other illicit signalling system. No one routinely keeps track of how people hold their hands. But in the 1965 World Championshops, Becker happened to notice that Reese and Shapiro were both holding their cards strangely, and he, Hayden, and Truscott then started watching more closely and figured out the code.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Not generally. But if anyone had a suspicion about some pair, they might start keeping track of them.

 

It's like any other illicit signalling system. No one routinely keeps track of how people hold their hands. But in the 1965 World Championshops, Becker happened to notice that Reese and Shapiro were both holding their cards strangely, and he, Hayden, and Truscott then started watching more closely and figured out the code.

I believe it is still controversial whether the code was cracked or not. Certainly the numbers from independent witnesses of matching hands is shockingly low and, surprisingly, nowhere even close to 100%. I think a better example would have been the score card writing scandal over which there is no such controversy.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Of course, in order to prevent transmitting UI, you must ask the question every time partner discards or ruffs. Or never.

The trouble with this is that it is not true. Nowhere does it say you may not transmit UI to partner: nowhere does it say you "must" do anything to avoid transmitting UI. No doubt it would be a "good thing" to ask always or never, but in practice I do not think it will happen. Sadly, I have discovered myself asking on a couple of occasions.

 

Many of us think it was better when you could not ask partner, but the WBFLC just about got rid of the option by removing the penalty.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The trouble with this is that it is not true. Nowhere does it say you may not transmit UI to partner:

Vampyr didn't actually say it is illegal to transmit UI: her post makes perfect sense on the observation that transmitting meaningful UI is not in your own best interests.

 

Sometimes your surprise at seeing partner fail to follow will be no news to anyone, other times it will be very interesting and places legal constraints on partner's choice of plays.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[...]

Many of us think it was better when you could not ask partner, but the WBFLC just about got rid of the option by removing the penalty.

Before 1987 any player (including dummy) could ask any other player who didn't follow suit about possible revoke.

 

It is of course a matter of opinion, but I really do not see the alleged improvement of bridge when this right became restricted. Instead we got great problems on the correct procedures and penalties (now termed rectifications) when a defender asked his partner. Personally I think that we have a better game in this respect now that we are (almost) back to the rules that applied before 1987.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But in the 1965 World Championshops, Becker happened to notice that Reese and Shapiro were both holding their cards strangely, and he, Hayden, and Truscott then started watching more closely and figured out the code.

 

Not quite as clearcut as all that perhaps except in the minds of Americans.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Many of us think it was better when you could not ask partner, but the WBFLC just about got rid of the option by removing the penalty.

 

What I didn't understand was why NBOs didn't feel they could impose their own penalties via regulations. What is wrong with, say, instituting a standard PP for asking? I was surprised that the EBU didn't go that route, actually.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Asking does not, to me here in the ACBL, express surprise, it's just the normal conformance to common practice. Not asking usually means you didn't notice, or are distracted by something else (such as trying to figure out the hands).

If someone is distracted, you can usually tell. Or if they ask 99% of the time, the 1% when they don't is likely to be due to one of those abberations.

 

If a partner who normally asks is clearly paying attention, but doesn't ask, that could be UI. And if the ratio is more like 75/25, I'd be concerned that there's something fishy.

 

Although, I could also imagine some common cases where a player might not bother asking. If the suit is played 3 times, everyone following, it has often seemed superfluous to ask when partner shows out on the 4th round. If partner doesn't ask, the only UI being transmitted is that he can count properly. While this might be considered extraneous if partner is a novice, it's not very surprising with an experienced partner.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, I never ask. However, a hand cropped up a couple of weeks ago where I was dummy. RHO led something and the other two players both showed out. RHO now asked her partner, with a note of surprise, "no clubs?".

 

Am I now allowed to ask declarer the same thing?

 

I didn't, and it turned out that RHO just couldn't count. But I was curious about the ethics here.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, I never ask. However, a hand cropped up a couple of weeks ago where I was dummy. RHO led something and the other two players both showed out. RHO now asked her partner, with a note of surprise, "no clubs?".

 

Am I now allowed to ask declarer the same thing?

 

I didn't, and it turned out that RHO just couldn't count. But I was curious about the ethics here.

Right to Inquire about a Possible Revoke

 

1. Declarer may ask a defender who has failed to follow suit whether he has a card of the suit led.

 

2. (a) Dummy may ask declarer (but see Law 43B2(b)).

 

(b) Dummy may not ask a defender and Law 16B may apply.

 

3. Defenders may ask declarer and, unless prohibited by the Regulating Authority, may ask one another (at the risk of creating unauthorized information).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Before 1987 any player (including dummy) could ask any other player who didn't follow suit about possible revoke.

 

It is of course a matter of opinion, but I really do not see the alleged improvement of bridge when this right became restricted. Instead we got great problems on the correct procedures and penalties (now termed rectifications) when a defender asked his partner. Personally I think that we have a better game in this respect now that we are (almost) back to the rules that applied before 1987.

We got problems? Certainly not in England. Once people got used to the new rules, they did not ask their partners any more, and all the UI problems disappeared. Now the UI problems are coming back, and you say that is better?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Before 1987 any player (including dummy) could ask any other player who didn't follow suit about possible revoke.

 

It is of course a matter of opinion, but I really do not see the alleged improvement of bridge when this right became restricted. Instead we got great problems on the correct procedures and penalties (now termed rectifications) when a defender asked his partner. Personally I think that we have a better game in this respect now that we are (almost) back to the rules that applied before 1987.

We got problems? Certainly not in England. Once people got used to the new rules, they did not ask their partners any more, and all the UI problems disappeared. Now the UI problems are coming back, and you say that is better?

Of course if no defender ever asked his partner (illegally) you would not have any problem. Was England the only country in the world where players never violated this law?

 

The very number of "clarifications" on how to apply 1997 Law 61B when there had been a violation tells a different story. (I write "clarifications" because each created new problems for the director who tried to apply the law as probably intended)

 

Matters apparently discussed was like: Did the illegal question establish the revoke or should it be rectified? What penalty (one-trick? two tricks?) should be applied? and so on.

 

Each "clarification" seemed to give a different answer to such questions, leaving the director who didn't care to make up his own law in a mess.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In Germany, if a defender does ask his partner about a possible revoke, are there any standard penalties and/or rectification procedures?

Please consider both situations: a - the partner has a card in the suit led, and b - the partner does not have any such card.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Of course if no defender ever asked his partner (illegally) you would not have any problem. Was England the only country in the world where players never violated this law?

 

I cannot answer this, but I moved to England in 1999 and confirm that if the law was violated, it was once in a blue moon. I don't think I ever witnessed it myself.

 

 

Matters apparently discussed was like: Did the illegal question establish the revoke or should it be rectified? What penalty (one-trick? two tricks?) should be applied? and so on.

 

Each "clarification" seemed to give a different answer to such questions, leaving the director who didn't care to make up his own law in a mess.

 

?? The law stated that the revoke was established, and so it should have been treated like any other established revoke.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...