Jump to content

bidding after a BIT


mrdct

Recommended Posts

[hv=pc=n&s=st9542h75dk5caj63&w=sak8hajt862daq6c8&n=s76hq4dt9873ckt54&e=sqj3hk93dj42cq972&d=s&v=e&b=3&a=1n(8-10%20balanced)2d(Single-suited%20Major)4dp(Agreed%20BIT%20%5Bapologised%20when%20putting%20dummy%20down%5D)p4hppp]399|300[/hv]

This hand came up on the first night of the Victorian State Teams Championships ("the Pennant") in the qualifying phase.

 

West is a multiple state open team representative and quite a good player. West is also good friends with both North and South.

 

Stop cards are not in use in Australia and bids above 3NT are not alerted. The 8-10 1NT range was pre-alerted in addition to being alerted by North when it came up.

 

Nobody asked about the 4 bid; which was somewhat fortunate for North-South as without the intervention 4 would've been RKCB but they hadn't explicitly discussed whether that was off after intervention but it seems they were on the same wavelength.

 

There was a noticable hesitation by East after the 4 bid and he apologised and acknowledged the break in tempo as he was putting dummy down.

 

After winning the lead in hand and playing a to the K, declarer got trumps wrong and then claimed 10 tricks conceding a and a after which South made a tentative suggestion that he might like to have the TD look at the board, to which West represented that he had a clear 4 bid at teams with a mini-NT on his right and a preempt on his left. North quickly agreed with West and the board was scored-up without any involvement of the TD.

 

If the TD had been called to adjudicate on the board, how do you think he should've ruled?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The methods are a bit strange. You wouldn't want to play against an 8-10 NT without a penalty double available but if so, West was taking a big risk that 2 might be passed out when partner is weak with diamonds.

 

But I can't imagine pass being a logical alternative with West under any circumstances.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

After winning the lead in hand and playing a to the K, declarer got trumps wrong and then claimed 10 tricks conceding a and a

So it seems right to let the 4 bid go, as North-South did at the table once they'd had a closer look at West's hand, but how about this claim?

 

Adding a little bit more to what happened at the table, after it had been scored as -620 and the cards were out of the next board, South jokingly complained to North, "You needed to underlead your A to my Kx so I could get a ruff and take it one down". West then said to South, "Did you have Kx? In that case I make 11". Not wanting to get into a discussion about whether or not a player of the calibre of West would adopt a "careless or inferior" line to lose a trick, South conceded the extra trick and re-entered the score as -650. As it turned-out the extra IMP for East-West was worth a VP, so at the end of match and still within the correction period stipulated in the regulations for the event, North-South queried with the TD whether or not he could look at the board and, if applicable adjust the score back to -620 as originally claimed. What should the TD do now?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...