paulg Posted September 13, 2011 Report Share Posted September 13, 2011 On the actual hand, East forced to game with 2♥, so it's unreasonable to expect West to sign off over 4♥.That is not what the OP stated as 2♥ did not promise a rebid. Although I do think it is clear for West to continue whatever East has on this auction with his control-rich hand. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lamford Posted September 13, 2011 Report Share Posted September 13, 2011 This seems to belong in simple rulings. No relevant UI and no adjustment. I would be much more interested in the brown sticker convention which was not pre-alerted after the TD had advised East to pre-alert. That, to me, is an automatic PP or DP, and an adjustment on the board in which it occurred because of the lack of opportunity to discuss a defence. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sfi Posted September 13, 2011 Report Share Posted September 13, 2011 That is not what the OP stated as 2♥ did not promise a rebid. Although I do think it is clear for West to continue whatever East has on this auction with his control-rich hand. Fair enough. I read 2/1 F1 as 2/1 FG. Apologies. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted September 13, 2011 Report Share Posted September 13, 2011 In the EBU even the standard meanings of this rebid are alertable!They are? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
campboy Posted September 13, 2011 Report Share Posted September 13, 2011 It's alertable if it's forcing -- at least that is my understanding of 5F1b. I think it's standard to play it as forcing whether it's 15-17 or 15-19. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted September 13, 2011 Report Share Posted September 13, 2011 The question as to whether this E/W pair believes 2NT showing 18-19 is alertable and whether they normally alert it is vital, and should have been asked. There can be no sensible decision as to whether UI was transmitted without knowing the answer to that. Whether the ABF believes it to be alertable is actually irrelevant: that would affect MI but MI is irrelevant. It does not affect UI. IMHO, everything following this, in post #12 ---including my feeble attempt to emphasize it are superflous to the OP's issue at hand. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finch Posted September 13, 2011 Report Share Posted September 13, 2011 It's alertable if it's forcing -- at least that is my understanding of 5F1b. I think it's standard to play it as forcing whether it's 15-17 or 15-19. I know plenty of people who play it as either 15-16 or 15-17 and non-forcing, which is why I agree it's alertable in the EBU if it is forcing. It's totally off-topic for this thread, but I've had different opinions about whether 1C - 1D (hearts) - 1NT (18-19) is alertable in the EBU as well, there isn't a consensus. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
phil_20686 Posted September 13, 2011 Report Share Posted September 13, 2011 I know plenty of people who play it as either 15-16 or 15-17 and non-forcing, which is why I agree it's alertable in the EBU if it is forcing. Really? I am pretty sure that roughly 50% of the field in EBU play 2NT as GF in these auctions, 15-19, and I have never seen it alerted in an EBU tournament. A similar case would be if you play a strong club, so that 1C-1M-1N = 18-19 (or 17-19), but for a lot of players 1M response to a strong club already promises 8+ points. Does that make 1N alertable as GF? I have never seen it alerted, even though I have played against pairs who had NF auctions after 1C*-1M (in the case of misfits). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jallerton Posted September 13, 2011 Report Share Posted September 13, 2011 I do. I have been playing Acol and against Acol players for what? 40 years? I have never run into anyone who plays a 2NT rebid to not include 15, and I don't believe you have, mjj, either. So the incredibly unusual agreement, whatever it is, that this pair have on what they do with 15-17 [rebid 3NT is my guess, and miss 5-3 spade fits] makes this 2NT alertable. I suspect that your guess is correct. This switch actually makes quite a lot of sense given their system. They won't miss any 5-3 spade fits (unless Responder judges to play in 3NT) as Responder can just bid 4♠ with 3-card support. I haven't been playing for as long as you, but I've come across Acol players playing a 2NT rebid after a 2/1 as all sorts of ranges: 11-1312-1312-1414-1515-1615-1715-1815-1918-19 Not all of these ranges include 15-counts. Of course, the weaker ranges are generally played by those who would open 1NT with a 15-count, but are you suggesting that "unexpectedness" for alerting purposes should be measured in terms of unexpectedness given their declared basic system? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted September 13, 2011 Report Share Posted September 13, 2011 I have run into these sort of rebids myself, but not when they are playing Acol. I do not see how you can play a 2NT rebid as 11-13 for example with Acol, which is basically four-card majors and light 2/1s. I suppose the problem is that some people think Acol means any natural system played in the British Isles. Perhaps it is the same in Australia. I have played 11-13 myself with a young Hackett. But if one thing was certain, it was that we were not playing Acol. Mind you, going back to the question of alertability, if it is common in Australia to switch the 2NT and 3NT rebids around, then the 3NT bid probably is not alertable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.