Cascade Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 [hv=pc=n&s=st874hkt52d32ck32&w=sakj53hq3d954ct95&n=shaj964dakq876cq8&e=sq962h87djtcaj764&d=e&v=b&b=10&a=1cp1sd2s3h4s5hpp5s6hppp]399|300[/hv] ♠ A lead. Ruffed in dummy. ♥ A all follow. ♥ J ... east detaches a card nearly places it on the table. Restores the card to his hand. Pulls the same from his hand and plays it. Later east claims he "thought" he had two cards stuck together. Declarer finesses and goes down in the slam. Is this a "bridge reason" for the out of tempo play? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1eyedjack Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 I don't think so, although I believe his statement. Presumably declarer would still have gone down if East had just followed in tempo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pran Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 I don't think so, although I believe his statement. Presumably declarer would still have gone down if East had just followed in tempoThe important fact is that East's irregularity can most likely mislead Declarer. This fact shall override a presumption that Declarer would have gone down anyway, and TD should therefore adjust the result to a successfull choice by Declarer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wyman Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Is there anything East can do to extricate himself from this situation, or does declarer have a freebie here? Sometimes by a mechanical error, east will pull two cards, or they will stick, or something. I think east saying "sorry, no problem" opens another can of worms. If he had said, "sorry, two cards stuck together," or something similar, can the onus be lifted? I don't necessarily disagree with a ruling for declarer in this case, but I sympathize with east (if he's believable) and don't think that declarer should get two bites at the apple. In general, though, I thought it was only a violation to intentionally vary tempo in a manner that could mislead declarer. Varying tempo by accident, or because of a mechanical error should result in no adjustment; after all, you're allowed to take inference from the tempo or mannerisms of the opponents only at your own risk. Or am I mistaken? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampyr Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 In general, though, I thought it was only a violation to intentionally vary tempo in a manner that could mislead declarer. Varying tempo by accident, or because of a mechanical error should result in no adjustment; after all, you're allowed to take inference from the tempo or mannerisms of the opponents only at your own risk. Or am I mistaken? You are not mistaken in what constitutes a violation, but declarer may be protected when the hesitation was at a particularly sensitive time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wyman Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 You are not mistaken in what constitutes a violation, but declarer may be protected when the hesitation was at a particularly sensitive time. Is that in the laws or just a de facto agreement among directors/players? Or is the sensitivity of the situation going to be used to impugn the credibility of the defender? Sounds argumentative, so I apologize for the tone, but I'm seriously asking. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cascade Posted September 11, 2011 Author Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Presumably declarer would still have gone down if East had just followed in tempo Interesting why do you say this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lamford Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Is there anything East can do to extricate himself from this situation, or does declarer have a freebie here?No, he has no demonstrable bridge reason for thinking with two small. So declarer can run the jack and claim redress when it loses. It does not matter whether we believe East. It is enough that he could have been aware the BIT would gain. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1eyedjack Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Interesting why do you say this?I observe that few experts rely on an a priori 52% break when there are other indicators. Here it appears from the opening bid that LHO has the majority of the Spades, so that alone brings it down to a 50% guess (Spades may even be 6-3), and that is before considering the high card requirements for East's opening bid, which I would rate as putting him heavy favourite for the Heart Q, especially after SpA lead (which I realise may not be backed by King). Of course I could be quite wrong, but I would expect most players to hook the Heart here. I realise that this has little to do with the ruling. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lamford Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Of course I could be quite wrong, but I would expect most players to hook the Heart here.As would I (I was amazed West went to 5S with Qx in hearts), and declarer should only get redress for the loss he actually incurred. I presume this can be weighted, and perhaps the right action is to poll players of similar ability and find out what they do. Declarer deserves some adjustment, as he would never get it right after the hitch. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cascade Posted September 11, 2011 Author Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 I observe that few experts rely on an a priori 52% break when there are other indicators. Here it appears from the opening bid that LHO has the majority of the Spades, so that alone brings it down to a 50% guess (Spades may even be 6-3), and that is before considering the high card requirements for East's opening bid, which I would rate as putting him heavy favourate for the Heart Q, especially after SpA lead (which I realise may not be backed by King). Of course I could be quite wrong, but I would expect most players to hook the Heart here. I realise that this has little to do with the ruling. Thanks Does anyone think it is interesting that east hitched on the crucial trick after opening with a sub-minimum hand? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cascade Posted September 11, 2011 Author Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 As would I (I was amazed West went to 5S with Qx in hearts), and declarer should only get redress for the loss he actually incurred. I presume this can be weighted, and perhaps the right action is to poll players of similar ability and find out what they do. Declarer deserves some adjustment, as he would never get it right after the hitch. Interesting I hadn't thought of a weighted adjustment in this way. Does east deserve a procedural penalty in addition to any score adjustment? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Does anyone think it is interesting that east hitched on the crucial trick after opening with a sub-minimum hand?yes Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberyeti Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 E isn't thinking with x or Qx, the hitch is irrelevant, no adjustment. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cascade Posted September 11, 2011 Author Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 E isn't thinking with x or Qx, the hitch is irrelevant, no adjustment. It wasn't a thinking it was a removal of a card from the hand and replace it and then pull it a second time to play. Surely this clearly indicates a choice of plays. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AlexJonson Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 We don't believe East was 'thinking'. We believe he pulled the wrong card (Queen) and swapped it. So unless he more or less tells us he has only one card left to choose from, the adjustment seems inevitable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 First of all I find it amazing that anyone outside North America would think of adjusting on a guess without weighting the adjustment. How on earth can anyone believe that anyone would get a guess 100% correct with no infraction? Second, it is an infraction to hesitate unintentionally in tempo-sensitive situations, and no, wyman, it is not just a "a de facto agreement among directors/players". Nor has it anything to do with "impugning the credibility of the defender". It is just illegal. Law 73D1 says: It is desirable, though not always required, for players to maintain steady tempo and unvarying manner. However, players should be particularly careful when variations may work to the benefit of their side. Otherwise, unintentionally to vary the tempo or manner in which a call or play is made is not in itself an infraction. Inferences from such variation may appropriately be drawn only by an opponent, and at his own risk.The second sentence is the important one: in a tempo-sensitive situation a failure to be "particularly careful" is an infraction. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Does anyone think it is interesting that east hitched on the crucial trick after opening with a sub-minimum hand?No. :ph34r: Is there anything East can do to extricate himself from this situation, or does declarer have a freebie here? Sometimes by a mechanical error, east will pull two cards, or they will stick, or something. I think east saying "sorry, no problem" opens another can of worms. If he had said, "sorry, two cards stuck together," or something similar, can the onus be lifted?Sure, why not? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wyman Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 "However, players should be particularly careful when variations may work to the benefit of their side." The second sentence is the important one: in a tempo-sensitive situation a failure to be "particularly careful" is an infraction. I will defer to others' knowledge of common rulings, but there have been many discussions on here in which people get nitty about the differences in wording between "should," "must," "may," etc. Regardless of his actual holding, it's clear east had no problem playing the small heart here, and any error/difficulty that east had in extracting the card was purely mechanical. So I'm not sure why it's more plausible that east slipped up and pulled the heart queen and put it back to pull the small heart than it is that east accidentally pulled the card next to the small heart, whatever it was. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peachy Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 "However, players should be particularly careful when variations may work to the benefit of their side." I will defer to others' knowledge of common rulings, but there have been many discussions on here in which people get nitty about the differences in wording between "should," "must," "may," etc. Regardless of his actual holding, it's clear east had no problem playing the small heart here, and any error/difficulty that east had in extracting the card was purely mechanical. So I'm not sure why it's more plausible that east slipped up and pulled the heart queen and put it back to pull the small heart than it is that east accidentally pulled the card next to the small heart, whatever it was. Accidents can be costly and can have consequences. The relevant Law does not discuss intentions, motives, or the lack of either. It was unfortunate for E that the tempo break and related fumbles and switches happened in a tempo sensitive situation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wyman Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 I'm just curious now. In a similar situation, if (at teams) south had finessed for an overtrick instead of taking a safety play to make his contract, would he be entitled to redress? What if east had fumbled in a situation where the bidding indicated that he had a singleton? And did I understand correctly that you'd not give south redress had east said "I'm sorry, two cards stuck together" at the time? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 Does anyone think it is interesting that east hitched on the crucial trick after opening with a sub-minimum hand?No.This is the kind of question that can be answered "yes", but can't be answered "no" unless the person is omniscient. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted September 11, 2011 Report Share Posted September 11, 2011 That is demonstrably incorrect, since I answered No and am not omniscient. It is also fairly childish since you know perfectly well what both the asker and myself meant. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aguahombre Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 That is demonstrably incorrect, since I answered No and am not omniscient. It is also fairly childish since you know perfectly well what both the asker and myself meant.And, you knew what I meant --jokingly that one person cannot answer for everyone. Relax. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted September 12, 2011 Report Share Posted September 12, 2011 I will defer to others' knowledge of common rulings, but there have been many discussions on here in which people get nitty about the differences in wording between "should," "must," "may," etc. The laws say that when a player "should" do something, failure to do it is an infraction, albeit not often penalized. When a player "may" do something, failure to do it is not wrong. When he "does" something, that establishes correct procedure without suggesting a penalty. Other words ("must", "shall", "shall not", "must not") specify infractions that are more serious than "should" (and so should probably be penalized much more often than they are, at least IMO). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.