affe82 Posted September 7, 2011 Report Share Posted September 7, 2011 Can't find the appropriate ruling to this one: would be delighted for some help! I am called and it is explained that declarer has a card more than the other players to trick 13.Everyone has 13 cards so declarer has avoided playing to some trick.I check for revoke but the extra card is a card set up in declarer's long suit and no revoke has been made (this is determinable from the play - declarer's last 2 cards are both risen small ones where rest of the players are void). Is there some law that should be invoked in a situation like this? SincerelyFredrik Alfredsson Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted September 7, 2011 Report Share Posted September 7, 2011 L67B. After Both Sides Play to Next Trick After both sides have played to the following trick, when attention is drawn to a defective trick or when the Director determines that there had been a defective trick (from the fact that one player has too few or too many cards in his hand, and a correspondingly incorrect number of played cards), the Director establishes which trick was defective. To rectify the number of cards, the Director should proceed as follows: 1. When the offender has failed to play a card to the defective trick, the Director shall require him forthwith to expose a card face-up in front of him and then place it appropriately among his played cards (this card does not affect ownership of the trick); if (a) the offender has a card of the suit led to the defective trick, he must choose such a card to place among his played cards. He is deemed to have revoked on the defective trick and is subject to the loss of one trick transferred in accordance with Law 64A2. (b) the offender has no card of the suit led to the defective trick, he chooses any card to place among his played cards. He is deemed to have revoked on the defective trick and is subject to the loss of one trick transferred in accordance with Law 64A2. 2. (a) When the offender has played more than one card to the defective trick, the Director inspects the played cards and requires the offender to restore to his hand all extra cards, leaving among the played cards the one faced in playing to the defective trick (if the Director is unable to determine which card was faced, the offender leaves the highest ranking of the cards that he could legally have played to the trick). Ownership of the defective trick does not change. (b) A restored card is deemed to have belonged continuously to the offender’s hand, and a failure to have played it to an earlier trick may constitute a revoke. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
affe82 Posted September 7, 2011 Author Report Share Posted September 7, 2011 many thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.