Jump to content

Partner Preempts in Second Seat


BunnyGo

Recommended Posts

You know your partner has a "light" style of preempting, even in second seat. What do you bid?

 

[hv=pc=n&s=sj8hak7dakt6ca654&d=w&v=0&b=8&a=p4sp]133|200[/hv]

 

Do you just bid 6? Do you try for 7, or try to stop in 5?

I just keycard here. The question is whether in second seat partner will open 4 off AKQxxxx and out, which is more of a style thing than anything else, if partner bids 5, I will bid 5N and partner should know I won't expect him to have a king alongside an AKQ high suit for a 4 bid, so I may well be looking for an 8th one or a Q and expect him to do something sensible. If he's got K10xxxxxx we might be in a slam missing AQx of trumps, but so be it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Keycard is sensible but then I want to blast 7 after a 2 response. Pre-empts in 2nd seat are at least as likely to grab partner as opposed to the opps and should NOT be as random.

 

I once played with a guy notorious for his weak 2's and got him to promise that he would have a 6 card suit in 2nd chair.

 

A few hands in he opened 2 in 2nd on 98732 and went out the door. I said "You promised to have a 6 bagger."

 

He said, "I did. Clubs."

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

30 years ago Jeff Rubens published his Useful Space Principle articles. One things that got discussed a lot was devising responses to preempts where there wasn´t likely to be much outside. Here, it is useful to know partner´s suit length, and afaik there isnt a way to determine this. ´

 

It took this long to get kickback into vogue perhaps determining suit lengths is next on the list :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Keycard looks perfect. Even if partner has king eighth and out with no ten that is a perfectly reasonable slam (AT, AQ, A, Q on). If you add the ten it's a very good slam (now you can pick up AQx on). No reason to just jump to 6, we might be off the AK of spades, and we might be cold for 7 (which partner can sometimes bid over 4N, 5N).
Link to comment
Share on other sites

For all the people who bid keycard (I did not, for better or worse...probably worse):

 

partner would bid 5 showing 1. If you continue with 5, he'll deny the Queen.

 

1 keycard, I bid slam. As I said earlier 8 to the king is ok, 8 to the KT is great, and obviously 8 to the ace is great.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Also, obviously if partner has 8 spades my AK AK A will cover the rest, hence why I'm only talking about the trumps.

 

I am assuming partner has 8 if he has only one of the top 4 honors, for obvious reasons. I assume "light" does not mean suicidal. He might have 7-5 or something with a bad suit, but that would be unlucky. Even opposite AT9xxxx and KJxx or something, slam is good. I do not think it is unreasonable to hope for at least the ten nine if partner has 7 bad spades in 2nd seat at equal vul.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I should have asked for keycards, I just bid 6. The names have been changed to protect the innocent.

 

 

[hv=lin=pn|BunnyGo,LHO,CHO,RHO|st||md|2S8JH7KAD6TKAC456A,S4QH4TJD25JC789JQ,S23579TAH289QD49C,|rh||ah|Board 120|sv|o|mb|p|mb|4S|mb|p|mb|6S|mb|p|mb|p|mb|p|pg||pc|H3|pc|HA|pc|H4|pc|H2|pg||pc|S8|pc|S4|pc|S2|pc|SK|pg||pc|H5|pc|HK|pc|HT|pc|H8|pg||pc|SJ|pc|SQ|pc|SA|pc|S6|pg||mc|12|]400|300|[/hv]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It really depends on how light partner opens imo. Can it be a 7 card (apparently yes), can it be a 6 card, what is the minimum strength in his suit,... If you use the old rule of 1/2/3 then this is a simple raise to 7 (partner bids for -2, we have 5 tricks => 13 tricks) although you might doublecheck on keycards for safety reasons. If he opens significantly lighter, then I'd still bid to at least 6 but it doesn't hurt to ask about keycards.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Incidentally, if partner asks for keycards (1430) do you bid 5 or 6? You don't have 100% certainty of even 5-level safety; on the other hand, knowledge of the club void may be useful.

 

Also, how does void-showing usually work over 4C mod-RKC? 5D = 1+void, 5H = 2+some void? Or do we bid the void? Or ... ?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Incidentally, if you ask for keycards (1430) does partner bid 5 or 6? You don't have 100% certainty of even 5-level safety; on the other hand, knowledge of the club void may be useful.

 

Also, how does void-showing usually work over 4C mod-RKC? 5D = 1+void, 5H = 2+some void? Or do we bid the void? Or ... ?

 

FYP

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Put me down for 6S without asking. A classical partner is supposed to have a 7-trick preempt here. Opposite AKQ-7 and out I will have good chances to make 7 but it may well not be a laydown; opposite any lesser holding I won't. Eight cards AK? Awfully heavy for equal vulnerability if you're classical. If partner is described as "light even in second seat" I think we can discount that as an extremely remote possibility. Most likely is a 7-card suit missing one of the top three plus some other modest value, or a broken 8-card suit.

 

I'd rather have an agreement to use 4NT as some more meaningful kind of trump-quality ask than RKC here -- perhaps 'just like GSF but one level lower' is a good simple agreement - but I've never had a partner who bothered to form such an agreement.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Incidentally, if partner asks for keycards (1430) do you bid 5 or 6? You don't have 100% certainty of even 5-level safety; on the other hand, knowledge of the club void may be useful.

 

Also, how does void-showing usually work over 4C mod-RKC? 5D = 1+void, 5H = 2+some void? Or do we bid the void? Or ... ?

 

Def don't show the void imo, your hand is so bad and parnter will OFTEN have the CA. Even if he doesn't he probably will have the other 3 keycards, so you won't miss slam. If we have what partner needs for 7, oh well, I wouldn't worry about it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Def don't show the void imo, your hand is so bad and parnter will OFTEN have the CA. Even if he doesn't he probably will have the other 3 keycards, so you won't miss slam. If we have what partner needs for 7, oh well, I wouldn't worry about it.

 

So this was my thought as well. But is there a hand on which you'd show the void? Even if your hand was the nuts, partner still probably has the club ace. Take like 8 solid/x/xxxx/--.

 

Just curious (and also curious when and how you show voids after 4C).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...