jerdonald Posted July 28, 2011 Report Share Posted July 28, 2011 My partner and I were defending a 4 heart contract when late in the play, declarer lead the 4 of diamonds which I trumped with the 4 of hearts, dummy followed with a diamond. My partner saw my heart and for a second thought hearts had been lead. She started to play the 5 of hearts and quickly realized that diamonds were lead. The heart 5 never got more than a couple of inches from her hand and was not at an angle where I could have seen it. As she returned it to her hand the declarer said "heart 5". The director was called and the situation explained. The director said since I was made aware of the of it the heart 5 became a penalty card. Is this ruling correct? And if it is why wouldn't I, as declarer, call out any card I was able to see in a defenders hand to make it a penalty card? Jerdonald Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted July 28, 2011 Report Share Posted July 28, 2011 No, the ruling is not correct. If declarer wants to give you a gift, that's his problem. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jerdonald Posted July 28, 2011 Author Report Share Posted July 28, 2011 Blackshoe, Thanks for the reply. I see that you're from Rochester NY. I spent my first 25 years there. jerdonald Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordontd Posted July 28, 2011 Report Share Posted July 28, 2011 was not at an angle where I could have seen it. This is the point that matters. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted July 28, 2011 Report Share Posted July 28, 2011 Congratulations on your escape! :P Welcome to the forums, btw. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted July 28, 2011 Report Share Posted July 28, 2011 Let me tell you a story. I directed once at the Gold Coast Congress in Australia, and I was called to the table. After declarer had led a card, his LHO had taken the ♥A out of her hand, changed her mind and put it back. I was called, determined where the card had got to, and was just starting to say it had not been played when declarer said firmly "I saw the card." At this point dummy said "We all know it was the ace of hearts." "True," I said, “declarer's RHO is now legitimately in receipt of the information that his partner has the ace of hearts, which is authorised and he may use, since it came from an opponent: but the card is still not played and may be changed." This was followed by a lot of growling and muttering about foreign Directors. :) 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
iviehoff Posted July 28, 2011 Report Share Posted July 28, 2011 "True," I said. ... This was followed by a lot of growling and muttering about foreign Directors.I'm sure you've sexed it up better for the telling. In reality you told the defender that he was free to use the extraneous information provided by dummy at his own risk, but in the event that he felt he had been misled by this extraneous information, he should call you back later. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted July 28, 2011 Report Share Posted July 28, 2011 I did not feel that was necessary since I knew it was the ♥A as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.