Jump to content

Mechanical error on defence


ahydra

Recommended Posts

Just wonder if a TD could tell me the correct ruling here as there was a lot of discussion about this at the table. The contract was no-trumps. A club was led from dummy, declarer's LHO (West) already having shown out. Both RHO and declarer followed then West discarded the spade ace! She quickly realised her error and said "oops, I didn't mean to play that", and showed the 2 which she had intended to pull out, but the Director said the A had been played.

 

I thought if it was an error and the player realises without pause for thought (as was the case here - the player in question is very ethical) they are allowed to change the card. So I would have expected the 2 to be played and the A to become a major penalty card.

 

Certainly in the auction one is allowed to change their call (provided their partner hasn't called) but I guess it might be different during the play, particularly on defence. Could someone clarify?

 

Thanks,

 

ahydra

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes the law is different for plays as compared to calls.

 

Law 45C1: A defender’s card held so that it is possible for his partner to see its face must be played to the current trick. if the defender has already made a legal play to the current trick, see Law 45E.

 

Law 45C4:

{a} A card must be played if a player names or otherwise designates it as the card he proposes to play.

{b} Until his partner has played a card, a player may change an unintended designation if he does so without pause for thought. If an opponent has, in turn, played a card that was legal before the change in designation, that opponent may withdraw the card so played, return it to his hand, and substitute another (see Laws 47D and 16D1).

 

This was a played card, not a designated one, so 45C1 applies.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

45C1 is the correct law here.

 

But it is worth recalling that a defender can be required to play a card that became exposed because they quite unintentionally dropped it. This only applies if the dropped card is an honour, but nonetheless it is apparent that defenders must be very careful not to expose cards they don't want to play. See L49 and L50.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 years later...

A defender deliberately removing a card from his hand and making the face visible to partner results in the card being played.

 

A defender accidentally dropping a card or cards face up results in penalty card(s) - but no such card is played to the current trick.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...