straube Posted May 13, 2011 Report Share Posted May 13, 2011 We're interested in overcalling a nebulous 1D (potentially void) after the opponents have opened 1C. The Midchart defines overcalls as natural if they show 4+ in the suit (and I guess that only natural overcalls are permitted). My take then is that we're required to have 4 diamonds if their club is natural (showing 3+) but that we can use a conventional defense (e.g. a nebulous 1D) if their opening is conventional (2+ clubs). Is that right? The next question is whether we would be allowed to frequently violate our agreement of having 4 diamonds (against their natural opening) when holding 3 diamonds. My understanding is that a deviation of one card from an agreement does not constitute a psyche. However, if we routinely overcalled with a 3-cd suit that seems like we have an unlawful agreement and one that the opponents obviously need to know about. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blackshoe Posted May 13, 2011 Report Share Posted May 13, 2011 It doesn't matter whether it's a psych or not. If you frequently deviate from your agreement, to the extent your partner becomes aware of it, you have a new and different agreement. That agreement may or may not be legal. Even if it is legal, failure to disclose it as required by regulation is a violation of law. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluejak Posted May 17, 2011 Report Share Posted May 17, 2011 There has been a long argument on rec.games.bridge, a Newsgroup, about defences to a doubleton 1♣ opening. There is a suggestion that you may get different answers dependent on to whom you talk at ACBL headquarters. Based on [a] my reading of the charts and a written reply from Mike Flader, who writes a Laws-based column in the Bridge Bulletin and answers questions sent to <rulings@acbl.org> on behalf of the ACBL, you may use any defence to a short club opening. But you may not use a defence showing 0+ [or even 3+] diamonds to a natural 1♣, natural being a 1♣ showing three or more clubs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.